HELP needed upgrading to 2.1

Discussion in 'iPod touch Firmware 2.X' started by Touch_Me_Gently, Oct 6, 2008.

1. Touch_Me_Gently

Touch_Me_Gently New Member

I am new to iPods and to this forum so please excuse my ignorance, I have an iPod touch running FW 1.1.5

1st: How can I tell if I have a 1st or 2nd generation iPod Touch (1g or 2g)? I won it in a raffle and it is 16 GB and has no exterior speaker or volume controls.

2nd: I would like to upgrade from FW 1.1.5 to FW 2.1, I currently have a file called:

iPod1,1_2.1_5F137_Restore

on my desktop, how do I go about installing this to upgrade the FW?

3rd: I would like to jailbreak my iPod, should this be done before or after upgrading to FW 2.1?

4th: Is there an easy tutorial on jailbreaking an iPod Touch FW 2.1 or 1.1.5 on this forum anywhere? (depending on the answer to Question 3)

Again I have searched this forum quite a bit already for these answers but you are so huge (Very Awesome Forum) and often the answers are in language above my understanding.

Thanks in advance for any help.
  2. Kornowski

Kornowski New Member

I'm not too sure how you can check what version iPod you have, but I can help with the other questions.

Firstly (assuming you're on Windows), open iTunes with your iPod plugged in, then, when it takes you to the iPod page in devices, hold Shift and click 'Restore'. Keep in mind this will erase everything on your iPod. Also, make sure you have the newest version of iTunes, version 8.

Once you've shift clicked restore, navigate to where the 2.1 FM you already have is and double click it, this will install the 2.1 FM on your iPod.

Now, once that is done (it can take a little while!) set up your iPod in iTunes as a new iPod and name it, just don't sync anything to it yet.