help me narrow down between these 5 earphones.

Discussion in 'Audiophiles: Headphones, Earphones, etc.' started by semidevil, Apr 18, 2009.

1. semidevil

semidevil New Member

I just bought the ipod touch an am looking for something to replace the included apple ear buds.

Here are my choices with reasons. I am completely new to buying earphones, but from reading the forums, these are my choices so far.

Sennheiser CX 500 - a lot of people in this forum seems to like them.
    V-moda vibe - very stylish, but some reviews mentions things going wrong (i.e earphones dying prematurely, or wire unraveling).
    shure e2c - amazon.com has good reviews and some people mention this is a good company for ear phones.
    etymotic er6i - amazon has fairly good reviews, and sounds like this is a reputable company.

Personally, My first choice is the V-moda. reason is because these are just what I want in terms of looks and style. However, the thought of these breaking down soon is what scares me the most. 2nd choice would probably be etymotic or shure, and lastly would be the sennheiser.

In terms of sound quality, are these all pretty much equal? Is there one that trumps them all? any pro's and cons to each? I'm trying to find the balance between build quality(long lasting), sound quality, and also looks.

let me know what you think, or if there are any alternatives to these 4.
  2. AppleDude

AppleDude Active Member

Device:
    iPhone 3GS (White)
    Out of the choices etymotic er6i there the best in the long run.
  3. mitchell209

mitchell209 Active Member

Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    the CX500s look alright, but don't get the V-Moda Vibes. I've seen a bunch of people saying that they break easily.
    I think Teslanaut's Vibes broke after a few days.
  4. thechungster

thechungster Super Moderator Emeritus

Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)