Help Me, ITouch 8GB refuses to restore.

Discussion in 'iPod touch 1.1.4 Jailbreak' started by dsystmpr838, Jun 21, 2008.

  1. dsystmpr838

    dsystmpr838 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay, so heres the lowdown on my severe mess up. I attempted to jailbreak my ITouch and after going throught the hour of work with the Ziphone jailbreak, I went back to my itunes to restore my Ipod. After longer then i'd like to wait around for the dumb thing to finish, it flashes something like "unable to restore (1604)". I put it into recovery mode and everything. Any ideas on how to get my Ipod to work again?

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    Also, the ziphone program is now off of my computer do to my computer's firewally, but it was doing this last night before it routinely cleaned my computer.
  2. jpga13

    jpga13 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    11,591
    Likes Received:
    435
    Device:
    iPad 3
    Have you tried DFU mode yet?
  3. jgl1115

    jgl1115 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPod touch
    yeah, try DFU mode.

    or try to 'force restore' it.
  4. GrooveMachine

    GrooveMachine Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,741
    Likes Received:
    11
    Device:
    iPod touch
    This is about the 500th tie someone's had a 1604 on the forums, and I swear I answer it every time. 1604 means that your iPod isn't communicating with MobileDevice.framework, and the only way to fix it is to restore on a DIFFERENT COMPUTER. Once you've done that, you can use your original computer to sync--the framework is fixed when you plug in your restored iPod. I'd go into more detail but I've given you enough to at least solve the problem, haha.
  5. Joe Rossignol

    Joe Rossignol Community Manager Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,500
    Likes Received:
    1,268
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    The reason why it is not working is because you are using regular restore mode, through iTunes, which can cause errors like the one you have received [because of something to do with one of the framework files]. You'll need to use DFU Mode [also referred to as 'Force Restore Mode'] which is another similar type of Restore Mode, which won't give you any errors.

    To place your iPod touch into DFU Mode, follow these instructions:

    A) To manually place your iPod touch into DFU mode, click on my 'iPod touch Reference' in my signature and scroll down to the section on DFU mode.
    B) In iLiberty+, under the 'Other Tools' tab, select 'Enter DFU Mode'.
  6. dsystmpr838

    dsystmpr838 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Looking Through Comments

    Okay so, I didn't use Liberty+
    But I'm not quite sure what you mean by force restore mode.
    I'll try and restore it on another computer and see how it goes.
  7. flattop95

    flattop95 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,339
    Likes Received:
    11
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    All you have to do is change usb ports and restart your computer and then try it, always works for me.
  8. iH@CK3RZ

    iH@CK3RZ Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (White)
    here is an easy way to put your ipod in restore mode:

    turn your ipod off all the way.
    then press and hold the home button while plugging it into you computer.
    keep holding the home button until you see a picture of a connect to itunes screen.
    you are now in force restore mode.

Share This Page