[help] Ip adress keeps changing on ipod touch

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by maximus5961, Jan 10, 2010.

  1. maximus5961

    maximus5961 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    831
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    I have an ipod touch 2g jailbroken on 3.1.2 and have open ssh installed...almost every time i try to use winscp to acces my ipod it dosent work (either says lost connection or the whole program crashes)

    and if i check my ip adress (to enter as host name) it is different!!!!
    is there annyway to change and keep keep a single ip adress or make the ip adress stop changing?

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  2. A Moist Towelette

    A Moist Towelette New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Reset the router I guess?
  3. maximus5961

    maximus5961 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    831
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    it is on but it still changes the ip adrss every once in a while (would it help if i got rid of the ssh toggle on my sbsettings??)
  4. NitroBum

    NitroBum Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,549
    Likes Received:
    12
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    You're staying connected to the same wifi network for all this right?

    no
  5. maximus5961

    maximus5961 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    831
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    yes the same one
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    actually i have been getting internet problems and have reset the router a couple of times...could this be the cause?
  6. richardarkless

    richardarkless Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    So let me get it straight you want to set a static ip address for your ipod, if I am correct you can do this by going into wi-fi networks, then right next to your router, click the arrow then select static and enter

    the ip address you want, subnet mask (normally 255.255.255.255), router and dns
  7. ChrisL

    ChrisL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8,704
    Likes Received:
    159
    Does it change after locking? Because I think that's normal.. or does it change even if your iPod is on and not locked?
  8. Chamilism

    Chamilism New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (White)
    use iphonebrowser?

Share This Page