[HELP] Installed Five Column Springboard and now SWOD !!!

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by WinkyTom, Jan 22, 2009.

  1. WinkyTom

    WinkyTom New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    hey everyone, I need some serious help here !!!

    First of all , you need to know I cannot restore my ipod because my Home button is dead.

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    That said, I'm now stuck with the infamous Apple Logo SWOD after I tried uninstalling Five Column Springboard through Cydia.

    The only thing I can do is SSH into the ipod for a few minutes while its booting.
    How could I repair it through SSH ???

    Please h.e.l.p me....

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  2. epqr

    epqr Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPod touch
    I don't understand do you get the appe logo (The white apple) or the SWOD (Spinning wheel)?
  3. WinkyTom

    WinkyTom New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Well I get both ! When I boot it, the Apple logo shows up and after a few minutes the swod appears on top of it ...
  4. giannaros

    giannaros New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    775
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    SSH into it and try to fix it... you should get that button fixed you know
  5. WinkyTom

    WinkyTom New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    I've tried SSHing into the damn thing but I just don't know what to fix ! Isn't there something I can replace so it boots as if it was in safe mode or something? Thanx for your support btw
  6. giannaros

    giannaros New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    775
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    Ok, I have an idea... I will install FCSB on my old iPod, see which files FSCB installs to your iPod, and then I will tell you so you can delete them... Im not sure if it wil work though...

    EDIT: Not possible
  7. NeSEncHo

    NeSEncHo Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,322
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well it adds FSCB.dylib to /Library/MobileSubstrate/DynamicLibraries/. Try deleting that?
  8. WinkyTom

    WinkyTom New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    hey thanks for the feedback guys, I appreciate

    unfotunately @jlo the dylib isnt there... it probably got uninstalled just before the swod.

    and @giannaros why isn't it possible?

    Please Register or Log in to view images


    could'nt I use older files to replace corrupted files or something?
  9. NeSEncHo

    NeSEncHo Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,322
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does the computer recognize the iPod before it reboots? Like does it see it? If it does, maybe looking at the console in iPhone Configuration Utility would tell you what's going wrong. And maybe this thread could shed some light on the problem? http://www.ifans.com/forums/showthread.php?t=94707
  10. WinkyTom

    WinkyTom New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    yea iTunes still recognizes my ipod and once,it actually transferred to my Mac an app I had bought on my iPod.

    And sorry for being a n00b but where do I find the iPhone Configuration Utility you're talking about?

    I'll also check the thread you pointed out. thx!

    EDIT: lol I actually tried the watchdog method you linked to, multiple times and still no luck...

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    Please Register or Log in to view images


    aww man.. seems like I'm totally screwed

Share This Page