HELP!! I'm new to this "jailbreaking" thing and want help

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by BubleeShaark, Jul 1, 2009.

1. BubleeShaark

BubleeShaark Well-Known Member

Device:
    iPad 2 (Black)
    Okay, so I have no idea what jailbreaking is, or what it does. It'd be nice if there was a sticky but anyways.

1. Is jailbreaking illegal? What are the cons?
    2. If I jailbreak, can I still use regular apps from the iTunes store?
    3. (I will refrain from asking if 3.0 is jailbreakable. I got an answer yes, but not yet. You dump your something to a USB??) Can someone help me on that one?
    4. If something goes wrong with your Jailbroken iPod, can you restore it so that it's no longer jailbroken?
    5. Where do I download free apps once it's jailbroken? Are they all free? What's the most trustable site to download from?

That's all the questions I can think of for now. I'd also ask how to jailbreak your iPod, but I trust that'll be said a thousand times once it's released.

Until then,
    BubleeShaark
  2. RoYaLx

RoYaLx Member

Device:
    HTC One
    1. No, it is not. It will void your warranty, but you can just restore. No cons if you know what you are doing.
    2. Yes
    3. That is only for the 3G. I am not too sure what that is about.
    4. Yes
    5. Are you referring to cracked applications? They are illegal. Do not discuss them here.
  3. Renegade

Renegade Active Member

Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    Jailbreaking is NOT illegal. It is completely legal and thousands of people have jailbroken device's.

The Cons to jailbreaking your iDevice are putting 3rd Party Applications onto your iPod Touch. Apple also allows this Via the App Store. However, They have rules for which applications get onto their store or not. Jailbreaking open's up your device farther than Apple's allowance and allows you to do things such as Theme your device, Download games, Download applications that will help you, And make your iDevice worthwhile.