[Help]~How can I install just Windows vista on a MacBook Pro?

Discussion in 'Computing, Science, and Technology' started by ubunix, Dec 9, 2008.

  1. ubunix

    ubunix Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    Hello,

    Im new to Macs, I just bought a Macbook pro on eBay and it didnt have an OS on it neither did it come with installation disks. I tried to install windows but windows wont reconiz the harddrive when I reformated it to ntfs with gparted. It says I need drivers.

    HELP PLEASE!
  2. Totally 1337

    Totally 1337 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    Why didnt it have an OS??

    And you could try installing linux (whatever "flavor" you want) then installing vista.
  3. ubunix

    ubunix Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    Becuase they cleared it to prevent stolen data, but if i have to ill put ubuntu on it.
  4. jpga13

    jpga13 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    11,591
    Likes Received:
    435
    Device:
    iPad 3
    You need an OSX install, after that you can run Vista in Bootcamp or Vmware. Mac OS aren't copy protected so you can download one from somewhere. I don't think that would be bad since it should have come with the MBP
  5. Totally 1337

    Totally 1337 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    ohh i see. Im pretty sure installing Ubuntu would be your best bet, but I would wait for a second opinion.

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    EDIT: theres one ^^
  6. Teslanaut

    Teslanaut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    15,588
    Likes Received:
    177
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Question: Are you using an actual Vista install Disc? Not a restore disc from another laptop? You don't need to use gparted to format a disk. Vista install disc will do it for you.

    You really need Leopard.
  7. ubunix

    ubunix Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    lol yea im already ahead of ya, you see I need an OS so I can burn os x to a dual layer dvd then install off that. You see what Im sayin?
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    Yes its a retail vista disk, and know vista would not let me reformat the two times I tried, Yes I really want leapard!

Share This Page