iOS 3.1 Help. Can't restore 3.1.2

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by rmead96, Aug 6, 2010.

  1. rmead96

    rmead96 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Hey i'm on 3.1.2 and i got stuck in safe mode because of iconoclasm. So i looked up how to do a restore on a jailbroken ipod(btw jailbroken with blackra1n). I found one thing called iREB but whenever i used it the white screen that I was supposed to get never showed up but still remained with a black screen. I followed the instructions exactly and on both vista and windows 7. If anyone can help me restore I would appreciate it a heap. Btw i'm trying to restore to 3.1.2 and I have the file on my computer( the ipsw).
  2. Merahk

    Merahk New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Make sure you put it in dfu mode first. That's the white screen. I suggest trying to attempt a dfu mode again. When the screen is white, go to itunes > device > hold shift + click restore. Select your ipsw and done.
  3. shashanknegi

    shashanknegi Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,778
    Likes Received:
    11
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Just go back into cydia and remove it, done your out of safe mode!!!
  4. b-mac 39

    b-mac 39 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,809
    Likes Received:
    60
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    You probably don't have your SHSH for 3.1.2. Since you have an 8GB, use a 2G 3.1.2 file and shift-restore to that. Nothing else needed.
  5. Tkf1

    Tkf1 Community Development Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    17,397
    Likes Received:
    2,488
    Device:
    iPad mini
    iReb doesn't support your device. That's why it didn't work.

    MAke sure you have a 2gen 3.1.2 ispw file.
  6. Maddenpatriots9

    Maddenpatriots9 Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    There is a program called RecBoot use exit only and it'll kick your precious out of recovery mode. This program is quick and easy~Best Regards madddenpatriots9
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    Apple stopped signing that firmware so If you try to restore it Apple will cancel the restore. My best guest is blobs.
  7. rmead96

    rmead96 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    The ipsw I have is a 2g one. It says iPod2,1_3.1.2_7D11_Restore. I have tried to restore it multiple times using this ipsw. I have put it in dfu mode many times and tried to do it as well but every time i get error 3194. Thankyou for all the help but as far as I know all recboot does is put it into recovery mode which is what i'm stuck in anyway and my ipod is tethered so even if i try to kick out of recovery mode it still goes back to the usb and itunes symbol. If I try to run blackra1n again it comes up with the guys face but after a while it goes back into recovery mode. I have also tried using iREB many times to go to the white screen but to no avail but as TKf1 said it doesn't support my device but I thought it did since i'm on a 2g 3.1.2 ipod touch. Thanks for your help guys but maybe could you supply me with a step by step tutorial cus everything i've tried doesn't work
  8. maximus5961

    maximus5961 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    831
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    i tried too ive been told apple stopped signing the 3X firmware
  9. rmead96

    rmead96 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    so do I have to restore to ios4??
  10. athera

    athera New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    3.0

    u can restore to 3.0
    i have tried restoring it to 3.1.2 but it gives me an error.
    Just download the firmware file and put it in DFU mode and restore.

Share This Page