Help accessing files on your ipod/iphone

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by super51fan, Jan 3, 2008.

  1. super51fan

    super51fan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,464
    Likes Received:
    54
    Device:
    iPod touch
    i have seen so many theads about how people cant ssh into their ipod and i have a solution. their is a program called iphonebrowser (google it). it is almost the exact thing as cute ftp or whatever. you can access your files using this program. the only problem is that you cant change the permissions of applications and other things to do that you can use Squid.app (It is in Installer) it is easy to use.

    Please Register or Log in to view images


    to change the permissions just check all the boxes shown and press apply.
    this is what I use because i cant get CuteFTP to work
    If you have any questions just pm me or post a comment.
    even better you guys could SEARCH!!!

    if you guys cant get to all your folders this is what i did:

    Open Iphonebrowser
    U will see the four folders
    Add a Documents folder
    Add the downloaded services.plist(below) to Documents folder
    Exit iphonebrowser
    Make sure you have MobileFinder downloaded to your iPod use Installer to get it.
    Open Finder
    Go to top right corner and click on ~ button
    You should see Documents Folder
    Open it and Copy Services.plist
    Goto /System/Library/Lockdown/
    paste Services.plist there
    Reboot Iphone
    Open Iphonebrowser
    You should have full access to system files now on your iPhone.

    Note: U should backup your existing Services.plist
    I just renamed the orginal one to ServicesB.plist

    Hope this helps. = )
    here is the modified service.plist
    http://[PIRACY.rs].com/files/81284318/Services.zip

    if that doesnt work download a PXL manager from installer and try iBrickr (iBrickr only works with 1.1.2)

    -Super51fan
    P.S. it only works for Windows
  2. dude19

    dude19 Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    4
    theres only one problem you cant add apllications with it ,it will only show the "root" folder for me and as far as i know there isnt an applications folder in the root folder so you cant add applications

    edit. nvm it says its showing root folder but its actually the media folder any fix around this, the go to funtion always gives me an error?
  3. super51fan

    super51fan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,464
    Likes Received:
    54
    Device:
    iPod touch
    did u open the folder?
    heres wat it should look like once u open it

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  4. dude19

    dude19 Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    4
    no i only get like dcim itunes control , all the folders in the media folder

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  5. super51fan

    super51fan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,464
    Likes Received:
    54
    Device:
    iPod touch
    did u jailbreak your ipod
  6. dude19

    dude19 Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    4
    yes..im trying some af2sc or whatever its called plist too fix it right now ill let you know if it works

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    edit fixed it now i get the folders thanks for letting me know bout this app cuz winscp has the slowest transfer speeds
  7. Garfield

    Garfield New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    can u please tell me how u fixed it cause i have the same problem with iphonebrowser. i can only access itunes_control and DCIM
  8. prosowhat

    prosowhat New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    HELP i cant connect!

    I get this Error message!

    Host has not answered for more than 15 seconds. Still waiting...
    Warning: Aborting this operation will close connection!

    Network error: Software caused connection abort

    Can any one teach me how to answer the WinSCP?
  9. bubs58

    bubs58 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPod touch
    It just flat out won't work for me but that's on my other computer...
  10. yeah_boi

    yeah_boi New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    4
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    i cant navigate to a "private, var, applications" when i touch var there is only .svn, cron, db and other things but not applications.

Share This Page