iOS 4.0 Help a noob prepare for upgrade/jailbreak

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by abrizz, Aug 19, 2010.

1. abrizz

abrizz New Member

Hi!
    Thanks for reading.
    I have never tried to jailbreak my ipod before and would like to. Or at least make sure that I can do it later after I upgrade to ios4. But before I go charging in I would like to prepare some so I don't end up making a mess of it all.

I have:
    iPod Touch 2G 32Gb
    Firmware is 3.1.2
    Model# begins with MB. Reading around that sometimes makes a difference and sometimes don't so I am a bit confused about that.
    iTunes version is currently 8.2.1.6

I would like to:

Upgrade the iPod to ios4. I don't know what the difference between the different versions is but I guess the higher the better.
    I would like to try Jailbreaking to see if that gives me anything useful. As I said earlier I have never tried it so don't know much about it.
    I would like to be able to reverse the Jailbreaking if it turns out it isn't for me.
    I would really like it if I didn't loose any songs or other things on my iPod while doing these things.

So my questions are these:
    1. What order should I do things? Should I Jailbreak first and then upgrade to ios4 or the other way around?
    2. If I should upgrade to ios4 first, should I do that in iTunes as normal? It only gives me the option for version 4.0.2 in that case.
    3. Should I upgrade iTunes to the latest version?
    4. I read about one needing something called SHSH to be able to reverse but I don't know where or how to find them. Are they on the computer?
    5. Can I make a backup in iTunes with an older firmware and then restore the contents to the device after I have upgraded to ios4?
    6. What type of Jailbreaking method should I use for my device? There seems to be quite a few around. Jailbreakme and redsnow being the ones talked about most but I don't understand what the difference is.