Headphone Splitter

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by Wassim.M, Jul 28, 2009.

  1. Wassim.M

    Wassim.M New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Hello,
    I have a SWITCH EASY THUMBACK microphone and I need to use it with frings.. however there is a problem using this microphone because the ipod recognize it as headphones...

    so I want to know if I bring Headphone splitter Like this one :

    http://www.budgetgadgets.com/images/proimages/777/777/DSC_681_360.jpg

    then I plug in the splitter to my Ipod and plug the microphone and headphone in to the splitter... Will the microphone and headphone work this way ?!

    thanks..
  2. deepower

    deepower New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    i used one of those before for my portable DVD player and for my SE P990i mobile phone and it works great. I think it'll work in ipod touch aswell.

    EDIT**

    But i guess it wont change the way ipod recognizes the mic

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  3. Wassim.M

    Wassim.M New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    I didnt get what you editted....
    so if I put the splitter and put in it a mic and a headphones I would be able to hear and speak ?!
  4. iTouchGuru

    iTouchGuru New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
  5. Wassim.M

    Wassim.M New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
  6. zeroshadow96

    zeroshadow96 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    But isn't a three ring splitter need for the iPod touch to even notice a microphone is plugged in?, because let's say it could receive sound from the mic unless it detects that a microphone headset is plugged in it will tell the app(s) that no mic is detected and in turn the app will say u need a mic right? Just like with shazam I think
  7. iBoss™

    iBoss™ Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,057
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    If you plug in a headphone/mic wired headset into the headphone jack, it will recognize the microphone, along with the headphones.

    So I dont see what the problem would be with putting a microphone in one side of the splitter, and regular headphones on the other side to the splitter.
  8. jeddster2013

    jeddster2013 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think you're right i tried this with a mic and headphone splitter i had and it did not work
  9. HeadReaper

    HeadReaper Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,348
    Likes Received:
    679
    Device:
    OnePlus One
    Revived a year old thread....awesome

Share This Page