Has anyone noticed (If they have an 8gb Touch) that the OS thinks it's 16gb after JB?

Discussion in 'iPod touch Firmware 1.1.3 Discussions' started by sangesf, Jan 28, 2008.

?

What Touch do you have? And does it work well with the Dev Team's JB?

Poll closed Feb 7, 2008.
  1. I have an 8GB Touch and it works well with the new JB.

    44.0%
  2. I have an 8GB Touch and it doesn't work :(

    4.0%
  3. I have a 16GB Touch and it works well with the new JB.

    52.0%
  4. I have an 16GB Touch and it doesn't work :(

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. sangesf

    sangesf New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    2
    Just out of curiosity, I checked using Terminal, and it shows (and thinks) that my 8 GB iPod Touch has 16 gb.

    Whatever this JailBreak does, it's screws around with the OS so that it thinks it's a 16 gb one. (Even though iTunes shows it correctly as 8)

    Do the people who have JB'n their iPod and are having LOTS of problems with it, are they the ones with 8gb or 16gb?

    Does the Dev Team's JB only work really well with a 16GB touch?

    Was the JB process done WITH a 16gb and has something in it that only works with it?

    Do they need to create a new process so that it will work with those of us with 8gb ones?
  2. toehead

    toehead New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have an 8, and the OS knows and thinks it is an 8. I just checked using terminal.
  3. johnInSJ

    johnInSJ Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    9
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Uh, no, Dev team JB, 8gb touch, iTunes thinks it has 8GB, df -h thinks it has 8GB.
    Exactly where did you see something that said it was 16GB?

    No issues at all here post JB.
  4. kappatango

    kappatango New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    6
    me too....mine thinks its an 8.....and it is.
  5. sangesf

    sangesf New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    2

    I used the command DF as well....

    Didn't use the -h switch... What does that do?

    When it shows me the 3rd partition, it shows me have about 13 gb free... trust me I only have an 8gb touch.

    I've re-JB'd about 7 times....

    1st time was with Nate's JB. Which was working fine (only was using it for about a couple of hours) until I moved to the new one.

    2nd through 7th time was with the new Dev Team's JB.

    I've tried all the different methods and everytime they've worked to a point.

    But eventually, at some point I have to force shutdown and then my iPod goes into Forced Recovery mode and I have to restore.

    Oh, has anyone figured out how to get Terminal to work AFTER the 1.1.3 Jailbreak?
  6. peterj

    peterj New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine says 16gb too, which is odd

Share This Page