hard drve question

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by sittinghomebored, Jun 4, 2009.

  1. sittinghomebored

    sittinghomebored New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    alright i have a 8gb ipod touch 2nd gen that my loving girlfriend got me for christmas

    she feels bad cause were both in college and didnt have a lot of money so she could only afford the 8gb model, i told her not to worry about it cause thats still a lot of music but i filled it up in like 2 days, with 1/4th of my mp3 collection.


    it would make both her and me VERY hapy if i could somehow CHEAPLY upgrade the filesystem so that it was a 32gb.


    is it possible for me to change the hard drive (it has to be flash memory right?) with the inside of a broken 32gb model, theres a bunch for sale on eebay, broken screens etc. id like to just swap the harddrive instead of the entire motherboard so i could take a swing at a broken 32gb with a motherboard caused error (ie bad usb port etc)


    it the memory going to be hardwired to the motherboard or is it a seprate module i could just plug into my motherboard?


    any advice is seriously appreciated

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  2. Wills42

    Wills42 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Honestly, I don't think it is possible. If it were, wouldn't everyone be doing this?
  3. sittinghomebored

    sittinghomebored New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    haha well not everyone has the balls to try it

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    and it is possible on onlder ipods like the 4th gens,

    but yeah maybe its not posible,

    in the same vein, would i be able to buy a 32g touch with a broken screen and replaec the screen with mine?
  4. Ryuzaki

    Ryuzaki Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,316
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    Nah.
    Because the hardrive carries so much on the iPod touches.
    So, yeah.
    Sorry man. :/
  5. ShadowKing

    ShadowKing Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad
    I think the Flash Memory is soldered onto the main board, so I doubt you could switch them out. You could do the screen thing, switching them out, but that's up to you.
  6. mohaas05

    mohaas05 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    The iPod Touch uses flash memory. It is soldered onto the main circuit board and cannot be removed without some pretty intrusive (de)soldering.

    But another problem is that the ROM (including the low-level firmware) may be on the same physical chip, so swapping it out could make your iPod inoperable.
  7. Sitruss

    Sitruss New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    You used to be able to piggyback memory chips on the older iPods, but I'm pretty sure that's not possible here.

Share This Page