Hackintosh, with Boot Camp question...

Discussion in 'Mac & OS X' started by ZombieKiller, Oct 20, 2008.

  1. ZombieKiller

    ZombieKiller Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,740
    Likes Received:
    30
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (White)
    Say i put OS X on my PC as the only OS on the PC... then i used Boot Camp in OS X, will it install normally? So that i can boot between 2 OS's like on a mac?
  2. Teslanaut

    Teslanaut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    15,588
    Likes Received:
    177
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    No. There is a reason why it is only for Intel MACs. The Boot Camp assistant won't even run on a Hackintosh.
  3. ZombieKiller

    ZombieKiller Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,740
    Likes Received:
    30
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (White)
    Ahh...

    Ok. Thanks Teslanaut
  4. ThatGEEKFreak

    ThatGEEKFreak Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,324
    Likes Received:
    10
    Device:
    iPad 3
    You just use the Darwin boot loader. So essentially you get the same function with less Apple glamor. Or you can use the windows boot loader to get to OS X, either way it works out for a dual boot.
  5. Totally 1337

    Totally 1337 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    I cant get OS X to install on my laptop

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  6. ZhiZhi778

    ZhiZhi778 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    936
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    keep trying Totally1337!!! I'm also at the trying state^^
    What error do you get or why won't it work?

    On my desktop I also couldn't get OSX x86 to run until now..
    I already reinstalled about 20 times and also tried 6 different (!) releases

    Please Register or Log in to view images


    But I'm still trying^^

    To the topic: chameleon is the best bootloader and is installed by some distros automatically so you don't even need to worry. But I suggest installing windows first...because many partitioning programs dont support HFS or HFS+ filesystem so you'll get problem partitioning your HDD for windows lateron.
  7. Omer

    Omer New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    Just advice. If you want to dual boot. backup important vista files. or stuff you need. Then go ahead and wipe the full drive. only do that if you have a vista install disk. Then install OSX. And then install vista. And use darwin to dual boot, since VISTA MBR isn't that good
  8. rafarquhar

    rafarquhar New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    1
    From a formal tri-boot user:

    It is easiest to have Windows installed first.
    Install OS X next, and then just add it to the windows bootloader. When I did my tri-boot, I had Linux, Windows, and OS X. I used GRUB as a bootloader (and it's awesome), so if you'd rather use that, I think they might actually have a winGRUB now.

    EDIT: I should add that I eventually reformatted and just went back to an XP system due to compatibility annoyances.
  9. simonrichards150

    simonrichards150 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,058
    Likes Received:
    94
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Just install all the OS's you want, then fix the Vista boot, and install EasyBCD, add entries for OS X, Linux, whatever you have, and they will all appear on the boot option list when you boot up.
  10. ZhiZhi778

    ZhiZhi778 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    936
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    Just wnna state this^^:
    YAY finally after 4 days trying I figured it out!!!

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    Mac OS X 10.5.2 up and running!
    I used Kalyways Image with Chameleon patch (self patched) and finally I had also to install a kext for my keyboard(ps2) manually.

    But now I'm just very very happy

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    To get back to the topic:
    I even have tripple boot! (xp+vista were first)As long as you do not touch any installations of windows the OS Xes will not harm them.

    The chameleon bootloader will set up a bootmenu with 3 options
    -windows xp
    -mac os x 10_5_2
    -windows ntfs (vista)

    From this menu I have to choose the vista thing to get vistas bootloader and boot xp/vista.

    The xp choice will throw an error saying ntldr missing...

    But don't forget to backup your system before setting up!

Share This Page