iPhone 3GS Hack iphone 3gs software

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by littleh, Jun 14, 2009.

  1. littleh

    littleh New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    hay so this morning i was thinking

    the new iphone 3GS is basically the same as the iphone 3G apart from the software and some hardware upgrades to make it run faster

    so why cant the 3GS software be modified to run on the iphone 3G because they are the same except for the upgraded hardware to make it run faster it doesnt have any thing else different from the 3G

    i know the 3GS hasn't been release yet so no one knows but in theory it could happen right??
  2. jpga13

    jpga13 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    11,591
    Likes Received:
    435
    Device:
    iPad 3
    Classic!
  3. ZombieKiller

    ZombieKiller Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,740
    Likes Received:
    30
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (White)
    No...

    You just said it yourself... the hardware is upgraded, so how would the iPhone 3G software be able to control the new hardware?

    Noobs are funny.
  4. iJuleguy

    iJuleguy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Oh come on, give him a break.
  5. twigster9

    twigster9 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Guys chill out, hes just asking a question. The hardware is different so the iPhone 3GS OS wont run on an iPhone 3G.
  6. Xhiea

    Xhiea Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    740
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad w/ 3G
    you do realise that they run the same OS, right?

    @OP

    there is far more than just upgrades to increase speed, there is a magnometer a better camera etc. The software that the 3GS runs and the 3G runs is exactly the same but the 3G wont be able to do what the 3GS does because of hardware limits, like, you cant improve the camera through software, and you cant include a magnometer with software. hope that helps
  7. sickamore

    sickamore New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    yeah same software different hardware. Thats the difference there So if you want you could learn how to overclock the iphone 3g.At the moment this is not possible.
  8. Ari.

    Ari. Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    3,347
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPad
    umm, iphone 3G CAN have video recording....
  9. Xhiea

    Xhiea Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    740
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad w/ 3G
    very low quality and requires jailbreaking. My dad has cycorder and its pretty crap

    /edit well its good enough i guess for the 3G
  10. SmoothTroopa

    SmoothTroopa Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Messages:
    949
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPad 2 (Black)
    yes they run the same OS but the firmwares are different (hence why the file of the ipsw is different on different devices)
    and the 3gs cant be jailbroken yet because they upgraded the processor and since the pwnage exploit was in the processor, they need to find a new one

Share This Page