iOS 3.1 guys help me flashing 3.1.2 firmware

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by GRV, Jan 14, 2010.

  1. GRV

    GRV Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    my 8gb ipod model came with 3.1.1 fw ....later i had updated its fw to 3.1.2
    ...now i m planning to flash its firmware again, which fw should i flash?
    ipod touch 2g(7D11) 3.1.2 OR ipod touch 3g 3.1.2(7D11) ?
  2. Chicken

    Chicken Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,494
    Likes Received:
    7
    Device:
    iPhone 5S
    Why do you need to restore?
    Also a 3G firmware will not work on your 2G device.
  3. sam_rock

    sam_rock Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    787
    Likes Received:
    34
    Device:
    Samsung Galaxy Nexus
    just use iTunes to restore. It will automatically detect n select the firmware for you. Since ur device came with 3.1.1 it will be free n available until apple decide to launch a new firmware.
  4. GRV

    GRV Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    my ipod keeps on restarting i dont know why?
    ...whenever i go out...after sometime i find it restore screen
    ...it is jailbreakd with blackra1n!
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    ..thanks for the reply guys ..i will try know!
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    i clicked restore button under itunes.. it is downloading the firmware now
    ....any idea where does it stores the downloaded firmware?
  5. Jacob

    Jacob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,943
    Likes Received:
    122
    http://www.iphonefaq.org/archives/97320
  6. jmwerkus

    jmwerkus Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3,030
    Likes Received:
    17
    Device:
    iPhone 5S
    It deletes the fw. DON'T RESTORE. run blackrain again and it will turn on
  7. GRV

    GRV Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    sorry to say i have restored it as i had no other option left at that time... my ipod was keeping on restarting n showing 'connect to the itunes' screen n then i again had to run Blackra1n, even it wasn't able to charge the battery properly!

    Thanks for your reply guys!

    @Jawcl
    i just saw ur tutorial on "how to fix the connect to iTunes screen", will that solution work on new ipod touch 8gb models, as this model is new one, was preloaded with 3.1.1 FW and model no. starts with "MC..." ?
    pls reply...
  8. iAppleTechGuru

    iAppleTechGuru Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Its because you have a tethered jailbreak, and you have an iPod touch 3G.
    I know you have an iPod touch 3G because your model number starts with MC.

    When youre on an iPod touch 3G, jailbroken w/ blackra1n, everytime you turn your iPod off, it wont turn on unless you plug it in and run blackra1n.

    You wont lose any of your jailbroken stuff, you just need blackra1n for your iPod to turn on.

    When you turn your iPod on after you turn it off, it will display a connect to itunes screen, at this point, just plug it in, and run blackra1n.

    If it was just randomly restarted, then good thing you restored it, howd it go?
  9. Captain*

    Captain* Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    iPhone 5S
    2g iPod = 2G iPod Firmware
    3g iPod = 3G iPod Firmware

    Jailbreak = Blackra1n

    Cant be simpler than that can it?
  10. GRV

    GRV Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    @CurtGuven
    i clicked the restore button for the first time,n the firmware which it downloaded was 'iPod2,1_3.1.2_7D11_Restore.ipsw'

    @iAppleTechGuru
    yes, it was getting randomly restarted, so i had to restore its firmware 'twice' to clean the left over files ....but even after restoring the same damn thing repeated ..i gave it to Apple Service Center..

    ...When i gave it to Apple service center, they told me they will check if it having any 'Hardware' faults, then only they will replace n give me new one, n they also said that Apple does not give any warranty/guarantee on its(ipod touch's) Firmware

    Since this model was brought by my brother from U.K, i din't have any bill..thank god the took it diagnosis ...but the receptionist kept telling me that i shud have bill, ...but i think next time when i will go there, they won't give new model, but keep on giving me the same reasons!

    Thanks for your reply friends!

Share This Page