GUIDE: Change your root password in 1.1.3 jailbreak

Discussion in 'iPod touch 1.1.3 Jailbreak' started by trianna, Feb 13, 2008.

  1. trianna

    trianna New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    The following steps lead me to being able to change my password in 1.1.3 jailbreak without any ill side effects:

    I am using an 8GB iPod Touch, jailbroken using the ziphone method. vterm100 and BSD subsystem installed. SSH installed.

    First, SSH into your ipod using your favorite SSH client (Search if you don't know how)
    username: root password: alpine

    You will need to do two things:
    1. Make sure /etc/passwd has permissions of -rw-r--r-- (should already have this done)
    To find out, type:

    ls -l /etc/passwd

    if not, run:

    chmod 644 /etc/passwd

    2. You will need to change the permissions on /usr/bin/passwd by typing:

    chmod 511 /usr/bin/passwd
    chmod u+s /usr/bin/passwd

    Type:
    ls -l /usr/bin/passwd

    The permissions should then display as:
    -r-s--x--x
    The s is very important. Without the s, it will not work. If the permissions do not display EXACTLY as shown, then do some chmod research on commands to get it to work. (Wikipedia has a great page on it)

    RESTART YOUR IPOD!

    Then I logged in on my ipod as root using vterm100, and used the passwd command to change my root password.

    This worked for me, let me know if it works for you. If it does not, I may be able to help troubleshoot it.
    1 person likes this.
  2. trianna

    trianna New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    I know you are all working on getting an actual jailbreak going, but if this method to change your password also worked for you, I would like to know. Or, if you have problems with this method, also let me know so that I can revise it. Thanks.
  3. trigg3r

    trigg3r New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gonna try it tonight. If it works, should be stickied.
  4. trigg3r

    trigg3r New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    1
    Didn't work. Spinning wheel circle of death. Had do restore.
  5. ilz1

    ilz1 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    i'm stuck at logging in with vt100... i'm starting it, it asks for password, type in alpine, says login incorrect all the time.
    There was no problem logging in remotely with ssh so this is really weird

Share This Page