Graphics Card Argument

Discussion in 'Computing, Science, and Technology' started by MrFairladyz, Sep 30, 2009.

  1. MrFairladyz

    MrFairladyz Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,042
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Like many of the people on this site, I would consider myself a tech geek. I fix computers, triple boot OS's and mess with C every once in a while.
    One of my friends came to me asking if I knew a decent graphics card. He sent me a link to one, and it had dual DVI ports. For someone like him, he was probably using VGA or HDMI, so I asked him what connector he uses. After sending a couple of example pics, he found out that he uses VGA. I told him that this graphics card wouldn't benefit him because it only had DVI connectors. He said that that had nothing to do with it because the tutorials that he read said all you need to do to install a graphics card was pop it in and install drivers.

    Call me crazy, but I've always thought that you had to plug your display into the graphics card to actually benefit from it. Isn't that how it works? The motherboard sends the signal to the card where it is processed and sent out via the connector?

    Please Register or Log in to view images


    Help me out iPtF. All I know is a lie.
  2. Spyda

    Spyda Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    696
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPod touch
    You're right, monitor plugs into graphics card.
  3. Teslanaut

    Teslanaut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    15,588
    Likes Received:
    177
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    LAWL. Your friend is dumb and you are correct. MAKE A BET WITH HIM. DO IT. BET HIM SOMETHING.
  4. TheConqueror

    TheConqueror New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,118
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ya pretty obviously you need to plug it into the card.

    What is your logic? You insert a graphics card and it supercharges you onboard graphics?

    Think of the motherboard just as a place to connect everything together to make one system. So you plug it into PCI-E so it connects with other components. The actual video processing goes on in graphics card.
  5. Nburnes

    Nburnes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    9,022
    Likes Received:
    767
    Device:
    OnePlus One
    Do what Tes said and make a bet because your friend is real dumb.
  6. eric_chaos

    eric_chaos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,746
    Likes Received:
    35
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    You could always get a VGA/DVI adapter....
  7. kevin1st

    kevin1st Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,018
    Likes Received:
    26
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    okay so now i feel a loser. so if you only have one monitor there is no point in getting more then 1 graphics card right?
  8. eric_chaos

    eric_chaos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,746
    Likes Received:
    35
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    No. You can run multiple video cards in Crossfire/SLI
  9. ryanangus

    ryanangus Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,609
    Likes Received:
    0
    If your Motherboard supports dual video cards, and if the the two cards you have also support this setup (Crossfire if ATI and SLI if nVidia) then you will still benefit from having 2 cards if you do intensive tasks like Gaming or Rendering, as there's more processing and V-RAM

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  10. kevin1st

    kevin1st Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,018
    Likes Received:
    26
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    is that that gold connector things along the top right of the first card? and all this time i though i was knowledgeable

Share This Page