Going to .3 redsn0w from original tethered option

Discussion in 'iPod touch 2G Jailbreak: redsn0w, 24kpwn, etc.' started by Tylerspilker, Apr 13, 2009.

  1. Tylerspilker

    Tylerspilker New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have been using the original tethered jailbreak method from command line since it was released. I just ran the mac version of the .3 redsn0w

    It went swimmingly, now it hangs at the apple booting thing, then gives a swirly circle and reboots repeating itself.

    I got it into DFU mode, and iTunes gives me an error about "Software for this iPod is not currently avalible please make sure you have the latest version of iTunes" I have the latest version of iTunes. Should I be restoring my ipod to a specific version?

    So I read DFU, restore, rejailbreak is the method. Or else is there something I am missing about the .3 redsn0w?
  2. iZ3RO

    iZ3RO Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad
    not really... its as easy as:
    Power Off
    DFU
    Run RedSn0w QuickPwn
    Wait
  3. Tylerspilker

    Tylerspilker New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is hung in a cycle of

    Boot up showing apple logo
    springboard loading circle appears
    itouch reboots
    repeat.

    I'll leave it to it's thing while I go to the gym, see if a miracle happens. If not, I'll restore
  4. vannmann

    vannmann New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
  5. iZ3RO

    iZ3RO Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad
  6. Chuckee

    Chuckee New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    It's not that easy. I ran into the same hole last night, and DFU with another Redsn0w Quickpwn did NOT change a thing.

    Redsnow is still Beta, and does not always work. I had to virginize to Apple firmware, then redsn0w. That worked

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    . And so does the latest LogoMe

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    .
  7. vannmann

    vannmann New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    if your already jailbroken, there are many variables that MIGHT could mess it up.
  8. Jacob

    Jacob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,943
    Likes Received:
    122
    I would say you skrewed up it's firmware. If it doesn't work when you get back then you should restore it then jailbreak.
  9. iZ3RO

    iZ3RO Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad
    yeah, you may have corrupted the firmware. I suggest you restore to default iTunes firmware, then try QuickPwn .3
  10. Tylerspilker

    Tylerspilker New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just did, looks promising so far.
    Only issue I had was that iTunes wouldn't restore the firmware, kept erroring.

    Luckily I had a stock 221 firmware file I could use.

Share This Page