Getting Skype onto the iPod touch?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by qwertyjjj, Mar 18, 2009.

  1. qwertyjjj

    qwertyjjj New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there a way to get skype on the touch?
    I could then add a mic and have calls up and running
  2. SmoothTroopa

    SmoothTroopa Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Messages:
    949
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPad 2 (Black)
    download fring. Its free in the appstore
  3. sjleworthy

    sjleworthy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    780
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad w/ 3G
    if i buy a set of headphones with a mic thingy, with Fring work on a 1st gen Touch?
  4. iTouch532

    iTouch532 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,710
    Likes Received:
    30
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Not sure. But you can try VoIP. That will def. Work.
  5. sjleworthy

    sjleworthy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    780
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad w/ 3G
    what app do i install for that to definitely work?
  6. iTouch532

    iTouch532 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,710
    Likes Received:
    30
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Oh brother. Funny cause I was thinking of doing the same thing.

    but you need an App from installer.

    tell me you have installer??
  7. sjleworthy

    sjleworthy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    780
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad w/ 3G
    sorry friend, i cant do that. i'm one of those odd un-jailbreaked chaps.

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  8. iTouch532

    iTouch532 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,710
    Likes Received:
    30
    Device:
    iPod touch
    oooooohhhhh

    Gotcha!

    Well you are pretty much. Screwed.

    Or you can just jailbreak.
  9. jamil_d

    jamil_d Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    Messages:
    2,041
    Likes Received:
    12
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    Apple Earphones with Remote and Mic cannot work with the first generation iPod touch - no exceptions. You need a special dock-connected mic.

    Fring will work as long as you have that "special microphone" that will work.
  10. sjleworthy

    sjleworthy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    780
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad w/ 3G
    no probs. guess i'll just use that good old device known as a 'telephone' then instead

    Please Register or Log in to view images

Share This Page