Getting rid of that STUPID shield logo on programs!

Discussion in 'Computing, Science, and Technology' started by red_5, Aug 22, 2009.

  1. red_5

    red_5 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    756
    Likes Received:
    0
    I hate that little shield logo that appears by programs and makes me type in passwords day in and day out! It even blocks programs that aren't even installers like WinRAR and Bochs for PC!! I WANT TO GET RID OF IT!

    And I already tried turning it off in the Security control panel. It just turns itself back on instantly.


    Please Register or Log in to view images

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  2. iTouch532

    iTouch532 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,710
    Likes Received:
    30
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Umm...

    Wondering why you don't have replies?

    I'm sure 110% you are running Windows Of course...

    And 90% it's Vista.

    Now I don't really know what you mean. Because I went from XP to Windows 7.

    soooooo...

    Screenshot maybe? post it up soon man I'll be able to help you.

    But funny thing that when I try and help someone everybody starts to reply. But post the screenshot anyway ok?
  3. bobby681

    bobby681 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,588
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Sounds like UAC to me, nothing you can do about that other than turning UAC off in control panel
  4. iTouch532

    iTouch532 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,710
    Likes Received:
    30
    Device:
    iPod touch
    I told u other people would answer lol.

    Well IDK what UAC is but try it see if it works.
  5. BradMoor

    BradMoor Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Go to the settings for your user, and the User Account Control part, and turn it off. That should work.
  6. bobby681

    bobby681 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,588
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    UAC is User Account Control, Microsoft brought it in in Vista and its the main thing people have problems with. It annoys them with it constantly popping up. With 7, they cut down on the annoyingness of it so people would be happier to move from vista.

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  7. iTouch532

    iTouch532 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,710
    Likes Received:
    30
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Oh. ok now I know lol. I never used Vista so I wouldn't know but yeah less pop ups in Windows 7 I like it it's ok.
  8. red_5

    red_5 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    756
    Likes Received:
    0
    Crap.

    Is Microsoft offering an upgrade discount for Vista users or are they going to be stupid and charge everyone like 200 bucks regardless?
  9. geekgrrl

    geekgrrl Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    954
    Likes Received:
    13
    Device:
    5G iPod touch
    Windows 7 is the browser upgrade. No charge.

    Well, except the added bloat on your harddrive.
  10. abakalad

    abakalad Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    yeah just buy win7 or download a beta.

Share This Page