Getting Apps/Themes Onto Jailbroken iPod WITHOUT WiFi?

Discussion in 'iOS Themes and Customization' started by DrScareCrow, Apr 6, 2009.

1. DrScareCrow

DrScareCrow New Member

I'm new to iPods. Hell, I'm new to Apple. I've been a Microsoft user my entire life, and I was somewhat shocked when I decided to buy a $247 iPod Touch 2.2.1. So one day I was randomly on Google and saw something about jailbreaking. I looked it up, and, after many, many screw ups, finally jailbroke my iPod Touch. After that, I wondered, 'How do I customize this like so many people have said I could?'

I've looked a lot into this. Through all the internet blogs and forums, I've come up with a gazillion things that "will" get apps I want onto my iPod Touch: iGopher, iFunBox, WinSCP, SSH, etc. etc. iGopher I couldn't use because I didn't know crap about directories, but then again it may not be compatible with 2nd Gen. iFunBox looked promising, but when I tried putting the NES app onto it, it doesn't show up on my Touch. I haven't a clue about WinSCP and SSH, and when I tried looking up if it was possible to put apps onto my Touch without WiFi, some sources said it wasn't. At all. Nada.

Isn't there an easier way to get customization and apps and whatnot onto my iPod Touch other than a knee-high pile of programs that I barely know how to use? I've heard that you can't access the internet through a USB port except through SSH, and even that I can't do (iPod Touch Browser refuses to work, and I've downloaded it twice, different sources).

I have an iPod Touch 2.2.1, I have no WiFi (at least not conveniently. I suppose I can go to a coffee shop or something), and I'm using WindowsXP.
  2. Sarcasm Siempre

Sarcasm Siempre New Member

Device:
    iPod touch
    Use Total Commander with the T-Pot plugin. Google it. Or you could create an ad-hoc network from your wired connection. Google that too.
  3. limisopop

limisopop New Member

Device:
    iPod touch
    Easiest Way (in my opinion)