Genius

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by sjleworthy, Oct 22, 2008.

  1. sjleworthy

    sjleworthy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    780
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad w/ 3G
    I activated the Genius function in iTunes last night to see what the fuss was about. I then selected a song or 2 in my music library on my pc and clicked the Genius button to make a genius play list.

    but what's the button on my iPodTouch do then? the Genius button each song has when it's played? or more to the point, how does it work and what does it do, only when i press it when a song is on it gives a message saying...

    "Genius playlists are not enabled. Use iTunes to enable Genius Playlists"

    well i thought i did.

    can someone enlighten me please?

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  2. giannaros

    giannaros New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    775
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    You have to sync
  3. sjleworthy

    sjleworthy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    780
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad w/ 3G
    my ipod was plugged into itunes as i was pressing the genius button on it. what exactly do i sync?
  4. giannaros

    giannaros New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    775
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    Just press the "Sync" button
  5. mulder84

    mulder84 New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    hey... i think i know how it works... no guarantees though...

    what i did was to put the songs into iTunes library, then "Update Genius". Then I copied (or you can sync) all the songs in...

    I also played one of the songs (from my iPod) in iTunes, then clicked on the genius symbol at the 'Now Playing' window at the top of iTunes... It should create a genius playlist in your iPod, and that should allow you to use the genius playlists in your iPod.

    I'm not sure if the second part has any use though, but just to be sure... Anyway, hope this helps...
  6. sjleworthy

    sjleworthy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    780
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad w/ 3G
    i got it to work, but, must admit i've never been a playlist fan. never use them. so the genius option is much the same as a random shuffle or playlist to me...not much use. i thought given the name and all that it might just change my life forever. nevermind

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  7. kenzoc

    kenzoc New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Everytime I update/turn on genius, at step 2 (Sending this information to Apple.) It says, "We could not complete your iTunes Store Request. The network connection timed out."

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    How do you fix this/get around this?
  8. troval

    troval New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    got a problem too, but in step 1:
    collecting misic information. works like 5 minutes for 1 pix. progress..

Share This Page