Gaming rig opinions

Discussion in 'Console & PC Gaming' started by flips30240, Jun 8, 2009.

  1. flips30240

    flips30240 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys i need you to rate my set up and make sure its all compatible. Buy the way im on a budget, i dont know what the budget is yet, probably around $600 so kep that in mind. alo this is a gaming rig

    Processor- AMD Phenom x4 9950 Black Edition

    Motherboard- Gigabyte GA-MA790X-UD4P

    RAM- As Much as i can afford! DDR2 240 pin

    Hard Drive- Hitachi7K1000.B-1tb, 7200 rpm, 16mb, SATA 300, OEM

    Graphics Card- BFG GeForce 9800 GTX

    Case- Sunbeam 9 bay Acrylic case-Clear

    Power Supply- Ultra LSP650 650-Watt

    DVD/CD Drive- Lite On IHES206-08 Blu-ray disc reader with dvd writer combo

    Keyboard (might get)- Logitech G15 Gaming Keyboard

    Mouse (might get)- Logitech G5 Laser Gaming Mouse

    Monitor (if i can afford lol)- Whats a good hd monitor? 17-25 inch widescreen range.
  2. KevN

    KevN Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (White)
    Seems fine. Nice graphic card. Save for the monitor tho.
  3. flips30240

    flips30240 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    0
    sweet thanks. ill def. look into a monitor. i have a really old toshiba that can do while i save up. in your opinion how hard is it to assemble a gaming rig? also are u a member at Computer Shopper Forums?
  4. KevN

    KevN Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (White)
    It's not that hard, same as any other computer. I am not a member, but the screen is mandatory. Just get a good 17 inch.
  5. flips30240

    flips30240 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    0
    sweet thanks! i asked cause i saw ur avatar used on computer shopper forums. cool i save for a good 17 ich, funny monitors look 3 times bigger than laptop screens even if theyre the same size, but in th emeantime ill suffer with the cave man. you really helped, i was woried it wouldnt work together.
  6. Ralzaider

    Ralzaider New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    I would replace the AMD processor with an Intel Core 2 Quad. If I wasn't on my iPod right now I would post some good reasons why for you =/. Just google AMD Phenom vs Intel or something similar.

    I have a G15 keyboard and a G9 mouse and I LOVE THEM! Absolutely the best keyboard and mouse I've ever used, bar none! They're definitely worth every penny spent.

    As for a monitor, I'm currently using a 17" LG display. I really like this monitor, the quality is very sharp. Samsung also make nice monitors.
  7. flips30240

    flips30240 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    0
    cool thanks, if i go with th eintel quad i have to change my motherboard, then my ram etc... so ill stick with the amd phenom for now.
  8. Aduumzor

    Aduumzor New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    589
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Everything looks good.
    Don't wimp out and think Intel is a better choice to AMD processors.
    Unless you're getting the i7, (which AMD has not to compete with yet) then AMD is a good budget choice. They're good and overclockable, unless it gets on your nerves that much.
  9. Led

    Led Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1,975
    Likes Received:
    1
    Looks good but if your gonna go with nVidia go with the GTX+ not the GTX (higher core clock i think). This might be pushing your budget but i would try to invest in a Phenom II processor; larger caches i believe. Otherwise looks like a solid rig!
  10. flips30240

    flips30240 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    0
    sweet im sticking with amd and the total price is $809.91 so i have some saving to do

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    but my motherbaord supports the phenom II so ill get one eventually thanks guys
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    edit, im getting a phrnom II !

Share This Page