FWChanger problem

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by sjmarshy, May 22, 2008.

  1. sjmarshy

    sjmarshy New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    1
    I downloaded FWChanger to see if it would allow me to download programs from other firmware versions. It worked perfectly but now its stuck on the wrong firmware version and won't change no matter how many times I attempt to change it. Can anyone help?
  2. JonnySK

    JonnySK Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,767
    Likes Received:
    5
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    First, try re-installing it, if that doesn't work, try respringing and restarting your iPod a few times

    Hope this helps
  3. sjmarshy

    sjmarshy New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    1
    cheers!
    yeah I reinstalled it again and it stopped sticking. Strange cause I'm sure I reinstalled it once already and that didn't fix it, but there you go.
  4. gojohnnyboi

    gojohnnyboi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339
    Likes Received:
    55

    lol its sweet seeing my app going around =)
  5. JonnySK

    JonnySK Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,767
    Likes Received:
    5
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Aren't I magic? Just kidding LOL, glad I could help

    Obviously man, its a great app

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    nice work
  6. sjmarshy

    sjmarshy New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    1
    tis a good app, just worried me for a second there when I thought I wouldn't be able to install any new apps cause everything would think I was a different firmware.
  7. Kevdanclay

    Kevdanclay Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    11
    reboot. try again... works very time for me
  8. wearmaize

    wearmaize Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,442
    Likes Received:
    13
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    If it didn't work you could do it manually through SSH. I assume that's all the app does, replace the FW file with that of another firmware. Correct me if I'm wrong, I am in no way a programmer/developer.
  9. jpga13

    jpga13 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    11,591
    Likes Received:
    435
    Device:
    iPad 3
    Well this obviously can't actually change the firmware so all it is doing is changing the systemversion.plist and you can ssh in and manually change it back to the firmware you are currently running.
  10. wearmaize

    wearmaize Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,442
    Likes Received:
    13
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    In the systemversion.plist, there is a single line of text that you can edit in any text editor, then replace the corrupted or original file. So if still says "<1.1.1>" change it to <1.1.4> and save it.

Share This Page