FwChanger fricking screwed my iPod!

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by narwal13, Dec 8, 2009.

  1. narwal13

    narwal13 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,070
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    5G iPod touch
    Don't be afraid of this mass of text, I really need help!

    So i changed my FW to 4.9.7 lol. and Now when i go to use DiskAid, it says this firmware is not supported! So i tried to change it back to 3.0, and I can't. FWChanger just crashes!

    Do I have to restore to use DiskAid now? I don't want to restore, is there a chance the restore can mess up my iPod if i Shift+click restore? I already have the 3.1.2 firmware on my computer. And do i need to put it in DFU mode to restore?

    Sorry...but also, blackra1n doesn't work on my computer so i don't know what i should do to jailbreak 3.1.2...

    Thanks and any help is appreciated.

    Im just scared cuz i don't want to screw my iPod because I don't have enough money for a new one, and I barely got my parents to buy this one.

    -narwal13
  2. GeorgeJQ

    GeorgeJQ Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    I'm pretty sure it wont be messed if u shift+restore, its never messed my ipod up. try using a friends computer to jailbreak, because blackra1n wouldnt work on my computer either, i just used my friends pc to jailbreak then synced with my itunes.

    and your ipod wont be screwed, if anything happens just do a dfu restore and everything will be fine

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  3. narwal13

    narwal13 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,070
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    5G iPod touch
    so i should just do shift+restore???? and can dfu mode skrew up my ipod?

    thanx for your kewl tipz.
  4. 42395_skyline

    42395_skyline Community Development Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    10,912
    Likes Received:
    489
    Device:
    iPhone 6
    SSH or use iFile and go to /System/Library/CoreServices and edit the SystemVersion.plist and change it back to 3.0
  5. taptaptouch

    taptaptouch Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,006
    Likes Received:
    11
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    what would you hope to accomplish with 4.9 fw lol but just restore or dfu or what the guy above said
  6. GeorgeJQ

    GeorgeJQ Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    yes 4.9 firmware would be pwnage to show to everyone and be like yeaaa im so pwnage u guys r all nubz meh gotz teh new fw 4.9 yo so cool
  7. narwal13

    narwal13 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,070
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    5G iPod touch
    yeah lol i got it from a *******!! jk. ok.i'll try to use that iFile method, i have that.
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    so this is what it says near the bottom:

    <string>4.9.7</string>

    should i just change 4.9.7 to 3.0?

    i might restore anyways bcuz cydia doesnt work and i am pretty much disable with out it. i use terminal to install all my .debs.
  8. GeorgeJQ

    GeorgeJQ Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    yea a restore would probably be the best
  9. 42395_skyline

    42395_skyline Community Development Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    10,912
    Likes Received:
    489
    Device:
    iPhone 6
    yea thats it. but ok. restore then. i always use the manual way to change my firmware when i want to show off. because its so much easier to just change the .plist.
  10. narwal13

    narwal13 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,070
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    5G iPod touch
    so if i change the .plist from 4.9.7 to 3.0, how do i change the build? mines set to 1234. XD

Share This Page