Ftp Program - Fetch

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by Dash9944, Mar 2, 2008.

  1. Dash9944

    Dash9944 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    Hello Everyone =)

    I recently returned my Windows computer, and got a mac from my parents
    On my old computer, i used WinSCP and it worked awesome!
    Now that i have a mac, im looking for something just like WinSCP....for macs

    I googled it, and one result was a program named Fetch
    Anyone know if it will work and if it does, will it be as good as WinSCP?

    If it doesnt work, can anyone give me a link to a program that will?

    Thanks,

    -Max
  2. starmatrix

    starmatrix Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPod touch
  3. Dash9944

    Dash9944 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    I got fetch, but its not free
    is CyberDuck free or not?
  4. starmatrix

    starmatrix Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Yup, it's free.
  5. Dash9944

    Dash9944 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    What do you put for server?
    i put my wifi address but it didnt work....

    also, is the username/pass still root and alpine?
  6. starmatrix

    starmatrix Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Yes, username is 'root' and pass 'alpine', also make sure port is 22, and you've selected SFTP in the connection bar. Hope it works!
  7. Teslanaut

    Teslanaut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    15,588
    Likes Received:
    177
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
  8. Dash9944

    Dash9944 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    Thanks, got that down
    server is IP address? it didnt work when i tried it....
  9. Dash9944

    Dash9944 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    also, for muCommander, how do i connect to my iTouch?
    it doesnt ask for the wifi address like WinSCP...


    nvm, figured out how to connect but it said 'this folder doesnt exist'
    does my ipod have to be in Mac format?
    if i do turn it into a Mac format, will i lose EVERYTHING?
  10. DerekVOF

    DerekVOF Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,375
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    iPod touch
    No, your iPod Touch doesn't have to be in Mac format. And you shouldn't be using your external IP address. You should be using the one that you find when you go to Settings > Wi-Fi and tap on your connection.

    Also, if you use CyberDuck, you can just turn on your iPod Touch, and then select it from the Bonjour menu in CyberDuck. It automatically sees it show up on your local network. Then you can just type in your username/password.

Share This Page