Free 2.0 for Me!!![Maybe]

Discussion in 'iPod touch Firmware 2.X' started by Greatnesss, Jul 1, 2008.

  1. Greatnesss

    Greatnesss Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Ok, so itunes thinks my iPoT is an iPhone!!! Does this mean i can get 2.0 for free when i click update when its released.

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    .

    Some1 pls tell or i'm excited for nothing (iTunes store doesnt work in my country

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    )
  2. Teslanaut

    Teslanaut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    15,588
    Likes Received:
    177
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    It's pretty useless. It's going to attempt to restore 2.0 firmware on your iPod and either Fail or your device gets borked.

    The iPhones, regardless of 3G needs more Power and manages power differently from the iPod Touch. You could potentially damage your iPod's hardware restoring iPhone firmware.
  3. Bubalooshi

    Bubalooshi Active Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    Well, if it thinks you have an iPhone (Don't know how this is possible), you'll most likely end up with iPhone firmware version 2.0. I suppose you'll get it free, but there will be problems.

    This would render the phone and SMS application useless, and some other issues with hardware may arise.
    I'm not sure, but my best guess is that nothing great will happen.

    EDIT: Darn, Teslanaut, beat me to it

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    .... Next time I'll win...
  4. Greatnesss

    Greatnesss Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPod touch
    yeah i kno that but i restored it just now and it just said its an iphone.But it loaded an iPod firmware.
  5. OneLove

    OneLove Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    maybe you get it but i dont think that the iphone firmware will work ( you will mess up your ipod)
  6. Teslanaut

    Teslanaut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    15,588
    Likes Received:
    177
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    How do you know it loaded iPod Firmware?
  7. potroast32

    potroast32 Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    959
    Likes Received:
    0
    the problem is you get iphone 2.0 not ipod touch 2.0
  8. Bubalooshi

    Bubalooshi Active Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    Well, if you want to load the iPod firmware as said, you'll need to buy it.
  9. Greatnesss

    Greatnesss Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPod touch
    i loaded an ipod firmware on it. It doesnt say that the iphone (my ipot) needs to be activated like it did once before when this happened

    @ teslanaut

    Cause i selected it...
  10. Teslanaut

    Teslanaut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    15,588
    Likes Received:
    177
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Considering it's a Beta. Beta's don't ask if your Phone is activated or not. Though they check if your device is registered in the Beta Program. If you are not, you'll get a PSOD (Pink Screen of Death) in which you have to restore to 1.1.4.

Share This Page