Formatting in Windows 7

Discussion in 'Computing, Science, and Technology' started by BigAl, Jun 21, 2010.

  1. BigAl

    BigAl New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    I have had/got a problem with my computer which can be explained here:

    http://www.ifans.com/forums/showthread.php?t=293623

    I thought that I would reinstall my Windows 7 to solve the problem however I didn't know that it would create another Windows, so now when I turn on my computer, I get to choose which Windows 7 copy I want to boot. The old Windows was/is installed on C and the new Windows is on D.Currently as I am writing, I am on the newer Windows 7 and I get these problems when I want to format:

    C:

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    D:

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    What should I do? I heard that I would need to use an external hard drive but I don't have one. Is there a program that could do it?
  2. Ex-Touch

    Ex-Touch New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,573
    Likes Received:
    3
  3. BigAl

    BigAl New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    So basically I download that file, burn it onto disc and then run it when I restart my computer?
  4. Nburnes

    Nburnes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    9,022
    Likes Received:
    767
    Device:
    OnePlus One
    Should be able to right click My Computer > Manage > Disk Management > select the correct partition and mark as unactive and then re-format it from there.
  5. BigAl

    BigAl New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    I marked D as active and tried to format C but I got this message:

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  6. Nburnes

    Nburnes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    9,022
    Likes Received:
    767
    Device:
    OnePlus One
    That looks like you are trying to delete the one you are booted into right now.
  7. magic8ball88

    magic8ball88 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,123
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    You can't edit a hard drive when its being used (the operating system is stored on the hard drive so it can't edit itself) as stated above you will need to boot into a live cd (doesn't use the hard drive) then you can format it from there. You could also make a bootable flashdrive would would be very snappy while you're using it.
  8. Fishy

    Fishy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    767
    Likes Received:
    22
    Device:
    iPad
    Alternatively, do you have your windows 7 recovery disc?
  9. austers

    austers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3,734
    Likes Received:
    456
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Install from boot.
  10. Tommm

    Tommm Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    752
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Format it during the Windows install.

    On the install choose advance installation, select the partition you want to format, click advanced, and format it.

Share This Page