Forgot my iPod Touch's root password!!

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by pcwiz, Sep 27, 2008.

  1. pcwiz

    pcwiz New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    OK so I changed my iPod Touch's root password from "alpine" to something else but I forgot the password

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    Is there ANY way to reset it without a complete restore?

    Thanks
  2. Tman47

    Tman47 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,883
    Likes Received:
    20
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    hahaaha i dont think so youre kinda screwed
  3. hect111

    hect111 Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    hahahah thats why i never change my password
  4. f1av0rflave

    f1av0rflave Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,364
    Likes Received:
    5
    uninstall openssh then reinstall?
  5. desi_soulja

    desi_soulja Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    4
    Device:
    iPod touch
    woah.. you can change the password? never new that

    restoring is the only way you can fix it
  6. Xandu

    Xandu New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    Why did you even change it in the first place?
  7. Aprosamurai

    Aprosamurai Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,573
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    i guess he did it to feel safe but its kinda stupid because who's going to ssh into your ipod touch without you telling them your ip address your username and password and know that youre jailbroken i just dont see why you would change it
  8. BadKarma

    BadKarma Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,037
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Of Course you can change the password. Changing it was stupid. Alpine is easier to remember, and its everywhere on the web.
  9. Blaze_Blaster

    Blaze_Blaster Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Have you ever logged in using ssh? if so maybe you saved the session.... who knows.. otherwise you are screwed, or will have to do everything from mobile
  10. brisingr

    brisingr New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,290
    Likes Received:
    0
    that's just a terminal, it's not holding the root password for itself.
    try logging in as mobile, backing up, then restoring.
    MOBILE IS NOT A SUDOER!

Share This Page