For all that are curious!

Discussion in 'iPod touch Firmware 2.X' started by ilikemonkeys, Apr 7, 2008.

  1. ilikemonkeys

    ilikemonkeys New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    1
    I got the 2.0 beta (obviously can't give links) and I was able to install apps! If you have the SDK all you need to do is download for example (this is what I did) the sample code and then "Build" them. They get installed on the iPod and it works! No $99 fee needed!
    Here are some screenies of me running 2.0!

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    Please Register or Log in to view images



    Please Register or Log in to view images



    Please Register or Log in to view images



    Please Register or Log in to view images



    Please Register or Log in to view images



    Please Register or Log in to view images



    Please Register or Log in to view images



    Please Register or Log in to view images



    Please Register or Log in to view images

    1 person likes this.
  2. jpga13

    jpga13 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    11,591
    Likes Received:
    435
    Device:
    iPad 3
    Yep, I have to enter my code though
  3. ZombieKiller

    ZombieKiller Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,740
    Likes Received:
    30
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (White)
    GOD!!!

    Why cant the SDK be on Windows too!
  4. ilikemonkeys

    ilikemonkeys New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Because Windows sucks! And it is a Mac only programming language (Cocoa I mean). Windows would not be able to compile because of the filesystem. I don't know what I'm talking about actually.

    What code? I never did.
  5. jord

    jord New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    3
    How are you getting in the app store without registering for the SDK?
  6. ilikemonkeys

    ilikemonkeys New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    1
    I can't get the app store cause its not even in the 2.0 ipsw! I even looked inside of the iPhone version (using vfdecrypt or whatever its called). Using the SDK you can test your apps on the iPod touch though. What do you think of the screens anyway?
  7. THaToNeGuY

    THaToNeGuY New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    16
    get me that elements app
  8. cameleon1267

    cameleon1267 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    we don't use the app store. you can have the SDK for free, you just need to register on the apple developpers website (free). if you don't pay 99$ you are not supposed to have 2.0 firmware and then you can not transfer your app to a real device. you can only run them on a simulator on mac.

    but if, for some reason you have the 2.0 firmware and use it with pwnage tool the SDK will then recognize your ipod and you can use it as a developpement device.

    for the moment the only application that will run on 2.0 beta are the apps from the SDK. I didn't have time to start messing around with cocoa touch but if someone make his own app he can run it on his ipod.

    I don't remember if I put a code during this process but clearly the model number of your ipod appear in the SDK so if the SDK phones home maybe apple can realize that your device is not actually on their developpers list.


    edit: question. How did you get installer or afpd server on 2.0 ? did you get the source code and recompile in the SDK ?
  9. ilikemonkeys

    ilikemonkeys New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Oooohhhh! Now there is a scary thought! Not like they can do anything though, I'm in Canada. Maybe they can tell if my serial was hacked. Doubt it though plus I use Snitch or whatever that app is called. Can tell when the app phones home anyways. I can deny it.
  10. jordanpooph555

    jordanpooph555 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    1
    i want that firmware so bad
    is it better then 1.1.4?

Share This Page