FontSwap messed up iPod. Wont boot past Apple Logo.

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by treminaor, Mar 20, 2009.

  1. treminaor

    treminaor New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Alright, my friend downloaded some font package from Cydia, and apparently the fint he tried to install is bad, and he tried to restart his iPod, only to discover that it crashes as soon as the lock screen appears (because it's trying to load the bad font). I figured that I could just manually put back the Helvetica.ttf in /System/Library/Fonts/Cache/ but iPhoneBrowser doesn't work when the iPod is frozen or in DFU mode. Is there any way to fix other than restoring?
  2. rcfreak339

    rcfreak339 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    nope, have to restore....
  3. The Baydestrian

    The Baydestrian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,169
    Likes Received:
    27
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    same thing happened to me
    I just restored.
  4. maloney

    maloney New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Font swap did the same to my iPod, I had to restore too. Not going to reload that app.
  5. chavanak

    chavanak Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Messages:
    609
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    Well I would say it depends on the type of fonts you install on your iphone/ipod. Do not try to use install many fonts. Fonts swap is a pretty clean app if used correctly. Been using it for long enough on my iphone and ipod and it never gave me any problem.

    P.S: If people can say which font is causing problem, other members will benefit out of it.
  6. bluepigster

    bluepigster New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Yeah I don't see any problem with FontSwap though. I downloaded just FontSwap alone, and I randomly clicked a font and Hey, It was brillant!

Share This Page