fonts putting ssh

Discussion in 'iOS Themes and Customization' started by Kreplick, Aug 28, 2009.

  1. Kreplick

    Kreplick New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    I downloaded a font that I like, how to i put it onto my ipod via ssh?
  2. Baggy Spandex

    Baggy Spandex Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1,274
    Likes Received:
    14
    Device:
    iPad 2 (White)
    system/library/fonts/cache
    Make sure it's ported for iPhone/iPod touch
  3. Kreplick

    Kreplick New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    What u mean
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    I put it in fontswap, but it didnt work when i opened for swap.
  4. Baggy Spandex

    Baggy Spandex Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1,274
    Likes Received:
    14
    Device:
    iPad 2 (White)
    You should have said your using fontswap....put ported fonts in private/var/mobile/library/fontswap
    Also, I mean you can't just put any old font in fontswap and hope it works. :/
    You need to port the font to iphone proportions, and rename it using appropriate sytem font names.

    EDIT: My 1st post still works if you want to manually override system fonts via SSH, just make sure you back up the original.

    Also, OT Kreplick I know you're new here so I'll just tell you. Don't double post. It's ugly. Do what I did and edit your posts.
  5. Kreplick

    Kreplick New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    I don't really understand this part. I have the font on my computer as a zip file I think.

    Oh and thanks, I havent been on any forum in a long time.
  6. Baggy Spandex

    Baggy Spandex Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1,274
    Likes Received:
    14
    Device:
    iPad 2 (White)
    Go here to learn about font porting. Once ported put the font where I said in my last post. I think for 3.0 you have to resize them to 2048 ppi. not 1000 (where are you vince) Also, if it is a free font you can just attach the zip to a post and ill do it for you. If it's commercial, pm me and i'll help you through it.
  7. Vince

    Vince Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    6,387
    Likes Received:
    8
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    How would you expect me to know? I pulled my own Helvetica's off my iPod and they were 2048, but (if you remember or was that iKeablr) on 2.x mine were also 2048, even though they were supposed to be 1000.
    I'm very angry with FontLab right now, it shouldn't crash constantly like it does.

    Haha did you forget that you're the master Baggy?
  8. Baggy Spandex

    Baggy Spandex Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1,274
    Likes Received:
    14
    Device:
    iPad 2 (White)
    hahahaha I know. I just wasn't sure about 3.0 yet. I haven't done any fonts since I upgraded. I shall try one now.
  9. geekgrrl

    geekgrrl Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    954
    Likes Received:
    13
    Device:
    5G iPod touch
    wow.

    Please visit the Polaroid theme thread! I have been struggling over there.

Share This Page