First ipod touch this wed, shuld i get 1.1.2 or must i be careful about 1.1.3/update?

Discussion in 'iPod touch 1.1.x Jailbreak' started by crystalnightmares, Jan 14, 2008.

1. crystalnightmares

crystalnightmares New Member

Finally bought one and should be arriving this wed.

I was reading about the whole possibility of 1.1.3 coming out, I'm kinda new to all this so I'm not too sure what it all means but there's been a lot of "don't plug your ipod to your computer" "Don't update" Reset your ipod" - then wat?...

I would like to be able to have lots of extra applications (I'm guessing through getting 1.1.2 on my ipod...) but i'm confused about the idea that they might brick our ipods etc...If i plugged my ipod into my mac for the first time this wed, should i not update to the 1.1.3 if it comes out and instead stop automatic updates and get 1.1.2 somehow? then ill be able to get the applications onto my ipod?

If something goes wrong, e.g. bricking the phone can you just reset the ipod and start from scratch like it was just bought? or when you brick it, it cant be fixed?

can anyone clear this up for me please? Like an 'idiot's guide" lol as to what i should do?

Please Register or Log in to view images

2. Nt1440

Nt1440 New Member

if you already bought it and its being shipped to u then theres no way its 1.1.3
  3. crystalnightmares

crystalnightmares New Member

but then must i avoid it updating to 1.1.3 when i plug it into the computer for the first time? is 1.1.3 the model or the update?
  4. Nt1440

Nt1440 New Member

1.1.3 is the firmware thats due out sometime (could be tomorrow) look around the settings in itunes that pertain to updates, then turn off automatic updates

ull be all safe
  5. mexicanbaby5

mexicanbaby5 New Member

I'm not worried about it that much, and I have a good feeling it won't get bricked at all. I was wondering though, can they really update through wifi? If so...what do I do, I just don't want to update at all.