firewire

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by iRun, Nov 5, 2007.

  1. iRun

    iRun New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    why did apple switch to ONLY using usb for ipods? doesnt firewire have faster transfer rates??
  2. Kurokaze

    Kurokaze New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    pcs don't have FireWire
  3. stinkeye

    stinkeye New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    wrong.. next
  4. coolmanclyde@hotmail.com

    coolmanclyde@hotmail.com New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    not sure, seems like firewire got lost in the mix...kinda like beta videos

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  5. avaloncourt

    avaloncourt New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    That was a pretty general statement but pretty much correct. All PCs have USB. Very few have IEEE1394
  6. stinkeye

    stinkeye New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    right, not all do.. my dell 4700c has one.. but my laptop doesnt
  7. n88n

    n88n New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    obviously PC can add them, but a lot do not come by default. When I got mine a couple of years ago I had to buy and install a firewire port. Most people will not or can not go that far. Apple is all about catering to the low end users who need to "just plug it in".
  8. stinkeye

    stinkeye New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    fireware should be a basic feature all-around.. pc or mac
  9. avaloncourt

    avaloncourt New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oddly enough, of the three laptops I have sitting here (all Dell) only the oldest (about 5 years old) has Firewire. None of my desktops had it by default.
  10. iRun

    iRun New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    well, im just wondering why they dont make it compatible with BOTH. for those of us that CAN use firewire, do, and for the poor souls stuck with a windows machine can use usb 2.0..

Share This Page