Fantastic Contraption Review

Discussion in 'iTunes App Store Reviews' started by berky93, Aug 4, 2009.

1. berky93

berky93 New Member

Fantastic Contraption Review
    By Berky93

Please Register or Log in to view images

I've never done an app review before, so bear with me if I forgot something or didn't represent a certain aspect of the game correctly.

Fantastic contraption is a simple game in which the goal is to get the red objects entirely into the goal area. You do this by creating machines out of the basic pieces you are given. There are five different pieces you are allowed to use, and you can use as many of each piece as you want. Touching the yellow gear in the top right corner of your screen brings up a menu with all five pieces as well as move, delete, save, and menu buttons. While you are placing a piece, the yellow gear is replaced by a magnification window to help you get perfect placement in those tight places. If you ever forget what each control does, pressing the (?) button will bring up a menu to remind you:

The game is very easy to pick up and play, and the level progression is easy going. It is a perfect game for fans of the online flash version and newcomers alike. There is a multi-part tutorial that you have the option to play which leads you through every aspect of gameplay. It even shows you how to refine a design using trial-and-error, which is very useful during the game.

Once you beat a level you are given the option to save your design. If you save your design, you can upload it online for others to see.

There is also a level editor in which you can create your own levels to play and share online. You can fully customize the level, from the size of the red objects to the shape of the building area to the location of the goal. You can also create green pieces which are stationary, and yellow pieces which react to physics just like your machine.