Facetime with no sim?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Covenant550, Jul 11, 2010.

  1. Covenant550

    Covenant550 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    767
    Likes Received:
    5
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Hey I don't have a sim in my iphone4 ATM bug was curious if FaceTime still works since it's wifi only? I don't have any iphone4 friends to yet it with yet and when I try the 1-888-FaceTime number I click "FaceTime" and it says call failed immediately.
  2. jalexis4192

    jalexis4192 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Well, Facetime is with the phone app (Which uses the cell signal to do pretty much everything) so doubt it. An app that doesn't use the default phone app would probably work.
  3. MrDodi

    MrDodi Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    You cant do calls without a sim and a carrier, what did you expect?
  4. dustinlenguyen

    dustinlenguyen Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Yup, FaceTime calls are linked to phone calls, which would require service and a number, therefore also requiring a SIM in there.
  5. freemini

    freemini Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,656
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    Maybe it will work after you called a person with a sim. But I'm not sure.
  6. TakenAppleDownAPeg

    TakenAppleDownAPeg Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    871
    Likes Received:
    5
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    inorder for facetime to allow you to use it, it needs a way of identifying you, which is what it needs the sim for, even though its wifi only thats how it works. It might work with any AT&T sim, I would give it a shot.
  7. jmwerkus

    jmwerkus Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3,030
    Likes Received:
    17
    Device:
    iPhone 5S
    It might work if you call the person with a sim, FaceTime them, then take out the sim. Because then you can just click on the direct FaceTime call. Using that I can call in airplane more using wifi.
  8. Covenant550

    Covenant550 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    767
    Likes Received:
    5
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    So if I put my friends sim card in, call a few people with iPhone 4s then take the sim out it'll let me just FaceTime with them Over wifi? Not a big deal just curious.
  9. owie007

    owie007 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Messages:
    453
    Likes Received:
    7
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Looks like you MIGHT be able to use FaceTime without a sim card... I took my sim out and went to "Contacts" and chose the person that I know has an iPhone 4 tapped "FaceTime", instead of telling me that I have no sim it said that I have to be on WiFi to use FaceTime.
  10. Covenant550

    Covenant550 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    767
    Likes Received:
    5
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Ah sweet! I can't give it a try till I get an activated micro sim first though. None of my friends have the I4 yet just 3GS

Share This Page