FaceTime over email

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by 42395_skyline, Oct 16, 2010.

  1. 42395_skyline

    42395_skyline Community Development Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    10,912
    Likes Received:
    489
    Device:
    iPhone 6
    How do you use FaceTime over email on an iPhone 4?
  2. ishey94

    ishey94 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    I don't know if you can, but it would be really cool if you could! In other words, I would also like to know how, if it's possible that is.
  3. flashisflamable

    flashisflamable New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    You can make a call to an iPod Touch 4 by adding an email address to a contact, then pressing facetime in their contact info, and it will ask if you want to call their phone number or email
  4. 42395_skyline

    42395_skyline Community Development Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    10,912
    Likes Received:
    489
    Device:
    iPhone 6
    But I'm talking about a mod to make it possible to activate FaceTime on an iPhone 4 with email instead of using your phone number
  5. flashisflamable

    flashisflamable New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    I think that would be impossible, because Apple has to send each device a push notification that a call is coming in. I don't think the end user has the option to change that
  6. 42395_skyline

    42395_skyline Community Development Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    10,912
    Likes Received:
    489
    Device:
    iPhone 6
    It would be possible, because it's there. The iPod Touch uses it. It's just not active on the iPhone, it most likely would be active if you change a couple .plist files (the same thing I did to activate the phone on my iPod Touch, but backwards.) but then you would lose the phone capabilities.

Share This Page