Extreme Difficulty w/ 2.0 Jailbreak

Discussion in 'iPod touch Firmware 2.X Jailbreak' started by EyesOfARaven, Aug 5, 2008.

1. EyesOfARaven

EyesOfARaven New Member

Let me preface this by saying that I'm not a complete nooblet.

I've been buggering about with winpwn all day. I downloaded several original firmware copies, including a premodified one - all failed. Here's the steps I took..

- Get original Firmware
    - Select in Winpwn
    - Build IPSW
    - Check the Cydia box
    - Select custom boot images (I tried with and without, and stayed within the guidelines anywho)
    - Hit the button
    - Error occurs because I don't have enough diskspace, asks me to choose another temp location, so I do.
    - Usually at this point it says invalid filename Disk://Custom-blahblah.ipsw, killing the process and restarting and reinstalling and whatnot eventually one of them worked, so I have a firmware image.
    - Goto DFU mode
    - Shift-click restore in iTunes and select firmware file
    - Watch it fail

I did most of these attempts this morning, and usually the button for iTunes pwning was involved, I just cant remember when in the process. I followed the guide anywho.

Anyway I've tried many firmware files and such and I have been getting various "Can't flash the iPod, unknown error (#)" errors between -56 and 6...

Edit: More precisely, the error is this

"The iPod "iPod" could not be restored. An unknown error occured (1)."​

My custom firmware always gives a (1).

I've done this some 30 times now in various combinations, tonight I realized my iTunes was old so I updated it and tried yet again, same error.
  2. ipodgamez

ipodgamez Active Member

Device:
    5G iPod touch
    Hey if your having trouble take alook at my thread ( the first link in my sig.)
  3. EyesOfARaven

EyesOfARaven New Member

I now have a spinning wheel of death... first time having this.. 1604 error on trying to restore back to plain 1.1.5!

And I used that guide, I mentioned that..