Establishing an Ad-Hoc with Vista

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by ThePickler, Sep 20, 2009.

  1. ThePickler

    ThePickler Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    4
    Device:
    iPhone 5S
    My goal is to setup my laptop's wireless as an ad-hoc connection under Windows Vista. I do have a cheap wireless router but it is very slow.

    I was successful in establishing a temporary ad-hoc connection by bridging the wireless with my LAN. Unfortunately this connection is unstable, I can use it for about 5-10 minutes before I lose it. The connection is a lot faster than what my wireless access point box can provide.

    My suspicion is that there is something I need to configure either in my router or IP settings. Though I'm not sure whether I need to do it on my router, wireless or iPod.

    I am so confused. The YouTube videos and various websites I've researched make it look easy and I still fail.
  2. thekodanator

    thekodanator Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    I think the problem is that you're using Vista. Not to be a hater or anything.
  3. Remy B

    Remy B Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    I agree with the guy above me, if somethings wrong blame Vista...
    I can't help you with this but if you have the money, get a better router?
    It should work fine then.
  4. Tardilicious

    Tardilicious New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
  5. ThePickler

    ThePickler Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    4
    Device:
    iPhone 5S
    No offense taken about Windows Vista. I'm starting to think the same thing that this may be the real issue with my problem. This is a MacBook Pro I'm using. Ad-hoc works perfectly under Leopard, but has many issues in Vista.

    I've not yet converted to Leopard.

    Oh, and the CNET video was the first tutorial I found. Thanks though!

Share This Page