Error 6 or "Can not put in DFU"

Discussion in 'iPod touch Firmware 2.X Jailbreak' started by CaptainPWN, Jul 19, 2008.

  1. CaptainPWN

    CaptainPWN Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the 2.0 custom restore file, but PWNAGE tool tells me that the iPod can not be put in restore mod, and iTunes give me an Error 6. What's wrong?
  2. dafootballer

    dafootballer New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
  3. CaptainPWN

    CaptainPWN Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. crizh4x

    crizh4x Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,474
    Likes Received:
    17
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    You must do it manually. ZiPhone can't communicate with 2.0 iPhods, just because Apple changed their USB protocol a little.
  5. CaptainPWN

    CaptainPWN Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    I keep trying it, but as soon as I let go of the home button either 1) iTunes sees it in recovery mode or 2) it doesn't turn back on.
  6. Zachary King

    Zachary King New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)

    to get into DFU mode:

    1. power all the way off.
    2. hold power and home button at the same time for 10 sec.
    3. and the end of 10 sec. let go of power but STILL hold onto home
    4. count another 10 sec. after that let go of home.


    that should work.

    to select firmware:

    1.) if your on a PC: hold shift and click

    2.) if your on a mac: hold option and click.

    If it doesnt work restart your computer. Good Luck.
  7. dafootballer

    dafootballer New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    then you gotta do is just

    reset it with the standby and home button
    KEEP HOLDING HOME
    when the screen is black it looks like its off keep holding home until it shows up in itunes
  8. CaptainPWN

    CaptainPWN Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Awesome, that works, but iTunes gives me error 1600 when trying to put it into iPod.
  9. Zachary King

    Zachary King New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)

    to get out do a hard reboot.

    to do a hard reboot:

    1. hold power and home till the screen goes black. once it does immediately let go or you'll restart and you'll be back at square one.

    DOT USE ZIPHONE! DOWNLOAD PWNAGE TOOL 2.0. its now ready on the website. here is the link.

    http://blog.iphone-dev.org/
  10. piratetom95

    piratetom95 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    what does the error 1600 say

Share This Page