error 6 in winpwn -_-

Discussion in 'iPod touch Firmware 2.X Jailbreak' started by Winterboard, Aug 9, 2008.

  1. Winterboard

    Winterboard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    2,345
    Likes Received:
    53
    Device:
    iPad 2 (Black)
    ok i didnt search ... i know... but i get error 6 in with winpwn 2.4. Is rebuilding a new ipsw enough you guys think?

    thanks

    o yeah im on 2.01 official now. o think that might cause it.
  2. Pelaez-1

    Pelaez-1 New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    822
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone
    I get that if I don't go into DFU, in DFU, I get error 1601

    ...
  3. AngelSynth

    AngelSynth Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,599
    Likes Received:
    10
    you get that if your iPod is booted in any mode other than DFU
  4. USAngel

    USAngel New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same problem. And I AM In DFU

    There must be another reason
  5. Gitykins

    Gitykins Banned

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,760
    Likes Received:
    1
    If you're getting error 6, you're not in Hardware DFU, put into it through button combinations.
  6. USAngel

    USAngel New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    i think I got it now... for the very first time!! Real dfu!

    Ipod was on, apple logo was visible (stuck), hold power and home button, until the ipod is off(screen turns black), exactly after that: release the power button (the top one), keep holding the home button

    result: Itunes recognizes the ipod, but the ipod is still black!!

    it used to turn on all the time..i thought that was right..

    I am installing a custom FW right now.. we'll if it works now

    EDIT: Still error 6 wtf??????
  7. prue3

    prue3 New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    EXACTLY the same here... i was in 100% DFU mode - ipod screen was off and usb sound was heared for connect... did the custom ipsw... and STILL got a 6 error... something is off here guys... DFU mode isnt the problem....
  8. USAngel

    USAngel New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can report a positive result!! I am now on FW 2.0 with JB.. cydia is visible

    Did the same thing again, but with FW2.0 instead of 2.0.1 (both custom-made with winpwn)

    I don't know why it works now... but it does... did the same thing like last time

    I am afraid of trying it again with FW 2.0.1... it's the 1st time that it's working
  9. prue3

    prue3 New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah but what about JB a 2.0.1? this doesn't work...
  10. clichecliche

    clichecliche New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I too am getting the Error 6 message in iTunes. I'm most certainly putting it in DFU mode. I've tried at least 4 times. It's getting annoying.

Share This Page