Error 1604 and DFU mode?

Discussion in 'iPod touch Firmware 2.X' started by pungphooie, Dec 18, 2008.

  1. pungphooie

    pungphooie New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    Using winpwn for 2.0 I was on 1.1.1

    I THINK I am in DFU mode, I mean, I did the whole "hold home+power, then just hold home" thing, but I think I am in Recovery mode as opposed to DFU mode, as my ipod shows the connect to itunes screen.

    Have tried changing USB slots, restarting computer, ending the ituneshelper process.

    Any tips?
  2. SolarFlare

    SolarFlare New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    To get into DFU, turn your iPod off COMPLETELY. Now hold home and power for 15 seconds and release when the plug image appears.
  3. pungphooie

    pungphooie New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    release both home AND power?
  4. SolarFlare

    SolarFlare New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Yes, release both of them at the same time.
  5. pungphooie

    pungphooie New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    Meh still getting error 1604, then again its still the connect to itunes screen and not a black screen, maybe I'm doing it wrong.
  6. SolarFlare

    SolarFlare New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Which iTunes version are you using?
  7. pungphooie

    pungphooie New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    The latest - 8.0.2.20

    EDIT: downloaded Ziphone and booted straight to DFU mode using that. Now have error 1601
  8. SolarFlare

    SolarFlare New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Wait; are you using a custom made .ipsw?
  9. pungphooie

    pungphooie New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    yes, the one winpwn generated
  10. SolarFlare

    SolarFlare New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    iTunes 8.0.2 will not accept custom .ipsw's. You are better off going to 2.2 (as it is much better) and using QuickPwn.

Share This Page