Erm... provisioning profile. WTF.

Discussion in 'iOS Development' started by spoonforknife, Jul 12, 2009.

  1. spoonforknife

    spoonforknife Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,896
    Likes Received:
    317
    So basically, I had my setup going, and while transferring an app I'm building to my iPod, it said that it couldn't put it on my iPod. So I open Organizer, and I try to install my Provisioning Profile. It wouldn't.

    So I try it in iTunes.

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    Any help?
  2. gojohnnyboi

    gojohnnyboi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339
    Likes Received:
    55
    Make sure the provisioning profile was made to cooperate with your device(you have registered and selected your device id).
  3. spoonforknife

    spoonforknife Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,896
    Likes Received:
    317
    It's already been done. I had a setup going. In fact, the provisioning profile is already on my device. It shows up in Preferences under General > Profiles. All of the data also shows up in Organizer for about 5 seconds with a progress bar that says 'Waiting for Device.' When it finishes, it doesn't recognize it as a valid development device and won't allow me to drag a Provisioning Profile to it.
  4. cocotutch

    cocotutch Community Development Team Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,285
    Likes Received:
    117
    Device:
    5G iPod touch
    It seems that I am not the only one who has been getting this after all, Reboot Device, that seems to work. It was lucky I have a Hackintosh available to do Development on, since the whole Provisioning/Xcode part on my iMac is totally screwed and this seems to be the only computer I can code on

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    Keep your chin up spoonforknife, its not bad until the computer won't let you develop at all.

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    If it doesn't work, regenerate a Provisioning Profile from the Portal and delete the current one from your Device, install the new one..I had to do the Certificates too, but i'm hoping you don't.

    cocotutch
  5. SkylarEC

    SkylarEC Super Moderator Emeritus Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    6,642
    Likes Received:
    129
    I sounds like Xcode doesn't think you've set your device up as a test device. Try, in thus order:
    • unplugging and reconnecting your phone;
    • Rebooting your phone;
    • Killing and restarting Xcode.
    • Rebooting your computer and phone.
    • Recoupling your phone.

Share This Page