Enter Terminal Codes On Your iPhone/iPod Touch

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by Khaos, Apr 19, 2008.

  1. Khaos

    Khaos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,655
    Likes Received:
    127
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    How To Enter Terminal Codes On Your iPhone/iPod Touch Through Terminal

    By Khaos139

    Click On The Pictures To See Them Better


    1. First We Need To Open Terminal, Go To Spotlight And Search Terminal And Then Click on Terminal

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    If You Can't Do It That Way, You Can Also Find It By Going To Your Utilities Folder In Your Applications Folder. Open Your Macintosh HD (Or Whatever Yours Is) Then Open Your Applications Folder

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    Then Open Your Utilities Folder

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    Then Open Terminal

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    2. Once In Terminal, Type: SSH root@(Your_Devices_IP_Address) To Find That, On Your iPhone/iPod Touch Go To Your Settings App, Then Tap Wfi, Then Tap The Blue Arrow Next To The Wifi You Are Connect To And It Should Show Your IP Address

    Example: SSH root@192.168.1.11

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    You Might Get A Message About RSA Host Key, It Only Appears The First Type You Use That IP Address, Just Type: yes

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    3. Now You Need To Type Your Password, Type: alpine
    (Note: It Will Show Up Invisible, Thats Ok)

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    4. Now Your In, You Should See A # Sign, Thats Where You Enter Your Codes (Note: In The Picture My IP Address Changed, Thats Because The Pictures Were Taken At Different Times)

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    Example: Entering A Code

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    If The Code Worked, You Should See Another # Sign Pop Up


    IF This Has Helped You, Rep Is Always Appreciated​
    1 person likes this.
  2. bluecrow628

    bluecrow628 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    I do believe that the bottom 2 pictures are corrupted
  3. maraca2020

    maraca2020 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    3
    is this the same on windows?
  4. BroadStBullies

    BroadStBullies Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    Messages:
    2,007
    Likes Received:
    26
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    thanks so much. This is really cool. It should be on the front page
  5. rokrboy

    rokrboy Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,475
    Likes Received:
    29
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Very good comprehensive guide. Stuck
    1 person likes this.
  6. Khaos

    Khaos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,655
    Likes Received:
    127
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    why? There just bigger

    Mac Only

    Thx
  7. jmiz9000

    jmiz9000 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,365
    Likes Received:
    19
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    good guide for noobs
  8. Totally 1337

    Totally 1337 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    Hooray for n00bs!
  9. jfb392

    jfb392 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,512
    Likes Received:
    21
    Device:
    iPod touch
    They aren't "codes", they are commands.
    To do the same thing on Windows, save this and input the IP address of your iPod, then hit open.
    Login with root / alpine as usual.
  10. Totally 1337

    Totally 1337 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    The link isn't working. Can you fix it please? I'd like to try this.

    Please Register or Log in to view images

Share This Page