iOS 4.0 Enabling Multitasking on iPhone 3G and iPod Touch 2G

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by J-Phone, Apr 9, 2010.

  1. J-Phone

    J-Phone Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    4,868
    Likes Received:
    10
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    Well everyone here is pissed that the iPhone 3GS and iPod Touch 3G is getting multitasking but not the lower models right? Well a hacker cdevwill some how got multitasking to work on the iPhone 3G and iPod Touch 2G by editing the multitasking .plist by changing a line from false to true.




    Source
  2. m0in

    m0in Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    2,723
    Likes Received:
    28
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    I think he shouldnt have mentioned how, but waited til 4.0 officially comes out
  3. The7thWitness

    The7thWitness New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    yeah they better not fix that. But im not sure that they can.
  4. mitchell209

    mitchell209 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    8,024
    Likes Received:
    5
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    and guess what? If you background too many apps, your iPod is going to run slow as hell. Apple doesn't like their products being slow.
  5. DeadKid

    DeadKid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    True.
    But i think if there will be the possibility to enable multitasking on my iPod touch 2G then ill do it, because now im using multitasking, too (proswitcher) and of course the ram decreases but as i only have one max. 2 apps in the background its not too bad. and apple's multitasking is said to be speed and battery saving, so actually i dont think it will be worse then now.
  6. littleh

    littleh New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    hang on don't you have to be jailbroken to see these files?
    so is he one of the dev team or something??
  7. xXrkidXx

    xXrkidXx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    4,594
    Likes Received:
    129
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    I really hope Apple doesn't patch this up for you guys.. I know my friend and all of you would love for this to still work in feature updates..

    J, you might want to edit your post... You said iPod touch 3G

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  8. Tr33stan

    Tr33stan New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    I want to try this do you need JB? I am going to try it anyway now so ill post my results
  9. J-Phone

    J-Phone Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    4,868
    Likes Received:
    10
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Yea to access those plists you'll probally have to jailbreak. But this background would be lighter on the RAM since its native to the device won't it?
  10. jmwerkus

    jmwerkus Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3,030
    Likes Received:
    17
    Device:
    iPhone 5S
    umm... apples multitasking is like not even multitasking

    EDIT: I have the beta and it is unbelievably amazing

Share This Page