Enable tethering for AT&T

Discussion in 'iPod touch Firmware 3.0' started by MrDennings, Jun 17, 2009.

  1. MrDennings

    MrDennings Banned

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    You now don't have to do any downgrading or *******ing.
    Seems you can just run a little command in terminal (Make sure you are on OS 3.0 on a 3G iPhone and iTunes 8.2):

    "defaults write com.apple.iTunes carrier-testing -bool TRUE"

    After that, the steps become a lot more simple.
    1. Download this file (for AT&T) and mount the disk image (thanks Gizmodo) for other carriers, try here.
    2. Option-click on "restore" in your iTunes with your iPhone attached. Browse to the opened disk image file and hit OK. It will update phone settings for a few seconds.
    3. You have tethering. Now go into your iPhone/settings/general/network/Internet Tethering and turn it on.
    Boom - 3 steps to tethering...
    Oh, and how to you like cut and paste and spotlight search?
  2. Axis

    Axis Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    6,288
    Likes Received:
    133
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    AT&T might be imposing additional charges for this... I would proceed with caution. My bill will be high enough without any surprises.

    But when I get my iPhone, I will go ahead an try this.
  3. atomicmufin

    atomicmufin Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,549
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    yeah, i would hold off on this until we know if they can charge us for it yet.
  4. MrDennings

    MrDennings Banned

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    i havent tried it yet i found this on 9 to 5 mac but as soon as i get my iphone i will try it as well
  5. Axis

    Axis Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    6,288
    Likes Received:
    133
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    Everyone should note these warnings found on Gizmodo:

  6. Gotanks0407

    Gotanks0407 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    i wouldnt worry about the tethering since my iphone registers it as the same internet as itself...i have been using it with my phone, and it displays it as the same internet from it with some network sniffing i have figured this out.

Share This Page