Enable Homescreen Wallpapers on iPod Touch 2G or iPhone 3G with NO JAILBREAK!

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by Steveice10, Sep 16, 2010.

  1. Steveice10

    Steveice10 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    This thread is now for more than wallpapers.

    Hello, I am going to tell how to get some locked features on Older iPod Touches and iPhones without a jailbreak.

    <Home Screen Wallpapers>

    1. Get iBackupBot
    2. Make a Backup through iTunes.
    3. Close iTunes
    4. Start iBackupBot and load your backup.
    5. Open com.apple.springboard.plist
    6. Add the following:
    7. Save the file, and restore your iDevice by going to "File -> Restore"

    You now have Home Screen Wallpapers. If you want to change the Wallpaper, follow these steps.

    1. Set your lock background to the Home Background you want.
    2. Backup your iPod Touch
    3. Export all the photos that start with HomeBackground and all the ones that start with LockBackground
    4. Rename the "Lock" in every LockBackground JPG to "Home" and replace the original HomeBackground images with the renamed LockBackground Images. Don't touch the .info files!
    5. Import the HomeBackground files you replaced with the Lock Screen Background files
    6. Restore your iDevice by going to "File -> Restore"

    <Battery Percentage Meter>

    1. Do steps 1-5 of Home Screen Wallpapers.
    2. Add the following:
    3. Save the file, and restore your iDevice by going to "File -> Restore"

    You now have the Battery Percentage Meter enabled.

    You now have Homescreen Wallpapers. Unfortunately, you can't change the wallpaper, you have to stick with the default. You might be able to change it by replacing the pictures "HomeBackground.jpg" and "HomeBackgroundPortrait.jpg", but I haven't tested it.

    I tried this with multitasking, but it wouldn't work. Any help on that?

    Can I get a com.apple.springboard.plist from an iPod Touch 3G? I think multitasking might not work because of the DoubleTap URL, and I would like to see what it is on an iPod Touch 3G.

    List of Features that do NOT work with this method yet:

    unified-ipod
    gamekit
    multitasking*
    hdr-image-capture

    *Current Priority

    Pics:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
  2. Syme

    Syme New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    im about to try this. if this works im going to be so happy! wait i cant do it i dont have the full version :(
  3. Steveice10

    Steveice10 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    It works, trust me. I can post screenshots if anyone wants.

    Anyone know how I can get multitasking to successfully work with this method?

    EDIT: You don't need the full version of the program, when the box comes up, press cancel, and it lets you do what you wanted to do without buying.
  4. alphonse3344

    alphonse3344 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,550
    Likes Received:
    132
    Post shots! Nao!
    :D
  5. Syme

    Syme New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    ok thanks. im about to restore to see if it works
  6. b777forever

    b777forever Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5,099
    Likes Received:
    344
    Device:
    iPhone
    <key>multitasking</key>
    <true/>
  7. Steveice10

    Steveice10 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Pics Added to OP.

    I tried that, but it didn't work. It might have something to do with the Double Tap URL, but I need a donor to give me a copy of the plist from an iPod Touch 3G.
  8. narwal13

    narwal13 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,070
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    5G iPod touch
    I was thinking of this yesterday lol.
  9. Syme

    Syme New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    i added the line. now my ipod is restoreing hopefully it works. if it does i will be so happy. thats really the only reason i jailbreak :)
  10. DiLui007

    DiLui007 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    35
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    Ok, now im trying this!!

Share This Page