Dwongrade then upgrade

Discussion in 'iPod touch 1.1.x Jailbreak' started by curlbigtimeballn, Nov 10, 2007.

  1. curlbigtimeballn

    curlbigtimeballn New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    i upgraded my ipod to see all the new 1.1.2 changes then i downgraded back and rejailbroke no problem, is this dangerous, was that a stupid thing to do, can it screw up my ipod?
  2. Masky64

    Masky64 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,148
    Likes Received:
    6
    When I upgraded to 1.1.2, I shift-clicked Restore instead of Check for Updates, put in 1.1.1, and messed up my iPod. I'm recovering from it at the moment.

    Moral of the story: When downgrading, do not shift-click Restore!!!!!
  3. curlbigtimeballn

    curlbigtimeballn New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    that's what everyone is saying now but mine works just fine, did you use the shift restore to downgrade, try that.
  4. drmmr6622

    drmmr6622 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    what are the changes in 1.1.2
  5. curlbigtimeballn

    curlbigtimeballn New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    all that i saw was the add evnts in calendar app. that's all.
  6. Masky64

    Masky64 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,148
    Likes Received:
    6
  7. curlbigtimeballn

    curlbigtimeballn New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    thats what i did i upgraded shift restore, then came back and shift restored back to the 1.1.1. firmware. Did you install that upgrade tool, it worked for me.
  8. sagsi

    sagsi New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think as long as you have done a SYNC between your touch and iTunes after RESTORE ... in other words if you RESTORE then SYNC ... you will be OK ... iTunes will have a backup of the "state" of your touch.

    If you do two or more RESTOREs in a row with no intervening SYNC ... you are screwed ... you loose your tunes, settings, everything.

    However, an UPGRADE will (or should) always preserve your user data .. tunes, settings, etc.
  9. rhmyuen

    rhmyuen New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    But the point is: How can we downgrade to 1.1.1 without shift-clicking?
  10. curlbigtimeballn

    curlbigtimeballn New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    thats what i did shift restore back to the 1.1.1. from the 1.1.2

Share This Page