[DUMMIES GUIDE] Blank Icon in your Stacks? This is a fix.

Discussion in 'iPod touch Firmware 2.X Jailbreak' started by BadKarma, Oct 4, 2008.

  1. BadKarma

    BadKarma Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,037
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    YOUR PROBLEM:
    I had the problem that I uninstalled a Program which I had in Stacks without deleting the Icon before. The result was an ugly white Icon which couldn't be removed (ended up in a "safe mode springboard")

    FIX:
    I fixed this by SSHing into my iPod and deleted this file: (You can also just delete the entry of the Program you've just uninstalled)
    "private/var/mobile/Library/Preferences/com.steventroughtonsmith.stack.plist"

    DELETE THE .plist with "ENTRIES". REBOOT afterwards.

    Happy Stacking

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  2. 48days

    48days Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,883
    Likes Received:
    4
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    I figured this needed a bump and some screen shot for the little kids out there who are scrambling with their iPods in safe mode and have just sworn off ever using stack again

    For people who don't understand, here are some screenies of the problem:
    Immediately after updating the app, your stack looks like this:

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    But then, unfortunately, once you hold down the blank icon, it send your iPod into Safe Mode, like this:

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  3. Steaps

    Steaps New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Messages:
    5,074
    Likes Received:
    41
    Device:
    iPod touch
    I've never been in Safe Mode yet, good time to try?
    What happens if you uninstall stacks when it's like this?
  4. 48days

    48days Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,883
    Likes Received:
    4
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    To get out of Safe Mode you just respring, if you for some reason feel compelled to do this:

    1. put an app you no longer use in you stack
    2. uninstall that app
    3. tap the blank icon
    4. voila! safe mode, now repspring and follow the joker's guide to fix it

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  5. atomicmufin

    atomicmufin Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,549
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    all you need to do is delete the stack entries plist.
    i didnt need to delete both.

    but that might just be me.
  6. 48days

    48days Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,883
    Likes Received:
    4
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    I just deleted all four related to stacks.
  7. ryanlusk

    ryanlusk Banned

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Man , you are awesome.
    I had some Folders from Categories in the stack , and then I deleted the folders , then I had that , and I seen this , and it worked

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  8. BadKarma

    BadKarma Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,037
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    yeah, you only have to delete the Entries .plist.

Share This Page